A sign you might care too much about grammar

The other day, three-year-old Zachary said to me: “My Taggie needs to be picked up.”

It was all I could do to restrain myself from including the words “passive voice” in my response.

********************

Slouching Mom (a woman I really wish lived next door to me) gave me this:

Isn’t it cute?  Here are the rules on this one:

1. If, and only if, you get tagged, write a post with links to five blogs that make you think;
2. Link to this post so that people can easily find the exact origin of the meme;
3. (Optional) Proudly display the “Thinking Blogger Award” with a link to the post that you wrote.

I pass this along to

Stephanie, who is a thoughtful thinker (yes, I just modified a noun with its adjectival form)

Melody, because those photographs show such depth of thought

Kevin, with whom I do not always agree, but whose dialogue is always thought-provoking

Liz, who wrote an incredibly intelligent comment on yesterday’s post that inspired me to check out her fantastic blog

and Catherine, who probably thinks too much.

Now, if I can figure out how, I’ll work on displaying the bling.  Stay tuned for tomorrow, when I demonstrate that I might also care a bit too much about word choice…

14 responses to “A sign you might care too much about grammar

  1. Wow!

    Thank you so much for the nod Emily. I really do appreciate. And, I even appreciate it more to know that we don’t share the same opinions on things but nonetheless can create a meaningful exchange of ideas through dialogue.

    I firmly believe that this is what we need more dialogue in this world and less shouting matches. If folks would agree to create dialogues, the world would be a much saner, safer, and civilized place.

    Thanks again!

    I guess that I am going to have to get to work and posting five blogs on my site.

  2. Jeez. After your grammar lesson this morning, I feel as if I need to apologize for not proofreading that comment.

    Sorry.

  3. great choices here!

  4. LOL! You must cringe when you read my blog. I have to admit it’s becoming almost second nature to correct egregious grammatical errors from my kids *and* from my husband (who doesn’t appreciate it).

  5. Oh – gotta tell you that (partial) picture up there is too cute!

  6. Oh wow! Thanks! :) Yeah, I probably do think too much. Especially in the middle of the night when I should be sleeping…

    And the passive voice story cracked me up!

  7. First I love the new banner. Love it!

    and yes the air purifier is suppose to help with allergies. I get them more in the summer, but at least in this house the air smells better

  8. I love finding another grammar nerd! I am so proud when my three-year-old says, “I’m doing well, Mommy.”

  9. Wow Emily – thank you!! Now I feel bad for slacking on my posting this week!! :)

  10. look at those teeth!

    (and yep, it’d be fun to be neighbors…)

  11. Thank you! Receiving an award for showing depth of thought with my photos may be the highest compliment my (amateurish) photography has ever received.

    Thank you.

    BTW, the blog header is too dang cute. :)

  12. Thank you for telling me about other blogs.

    When my first daughter started nursery school, I learned to use “need” instead of “have to.” “You need to take a nap” instead of “you have to take a nap” or “take a nap, you spawn of Satan.” It seemed to work. I must have overdid it, because her 2-year-old sister told me, “you need to pick me up.”

  13. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce