Various and sundry

 

You are seated at breakfast.  The entrée is pancakes.  You may choose either:

A)    A warm, fresh, intact pancake straight off the griddle, with a side of syrup

B)     The outer circumference of a cold, leftover pancake, all that is left after someone else has eaten out the center portion.

Which do you choose?  Your choice, in our house at least, is largely dependent upon whether you are an older or a younger sibling.

 

The funny, thoughtful, and apparently genius-level Magpie has awarded me this lovely bling:

 

My cup runneth over.  There are a lot of people to whom I’d like to pass it along, but I have to choose one, so I will send it along to Ally, who I wish would post more often because her posts are always well-written and socially aware.  She always manages to retain her humility while also advising her readers on how to better the world.  That takes a great deal of skillful writing.

 

Thanks to Google Reader (sorry, Snos), I am now reading a wider range of blogs more efficiently.  This is good, as one of the things I love about blogging is the communication between diverse groups of people.  There is a sense of community in knowing you read me and I read you.  I do think there are lots of you out there reading me without leaving a calling card.  That’s totally cool; no one should be pressured to comment.  However, if you are a regular reader who never or rarely comments, I hope you do comment in the next few days and leave me a link to your blog.  I’d like to check you out because – for me at least – reading each other is part of what blogging is all about.

This attitude, however, has gotten me into a bit of a pickle.  I always comment the first few times I read a blog because I want you to know I am there and paying attention to your words.  Then, I feel like I need to keep commenting so you won’t think I have disappeared.  This would be fine if it weren’t for things like load times and the kids wanting to see their mother now and then.  I find my self reading less attentively because I feel the pressure of wanting to form a comment.

Now that I am reading more blogs, I am going to need to cut back somewhat on my commenting.  If I have been a regular reader of your blog, rest assured I am still reading everything, and probably in a more timely and thoughtful manner than I have in the past.  I am there, I am reading, and I am interested.  But, I may not be commenting as often. 

That’s probably for the best, because how many of my snarky comments do you really want to read in a week?

 

Thank you for the kind comments on my new banner.  That is Benjamin’s mouth up there.  It was taken a month ago, but he still has only six teeth.  For the uninitiated, let me explain.  He had no teeth till he was 11 months old.  Then, he got four teeth in one month.  Since his first birthday, he has cut two more teeth.  This leaves him 16 months old with very little to aid his continual quest for more calories and more varieties of flavor. 

Kidney beans, pea pods, salmon, hamburger, broccoli, apples, carrot sticks, cheese wheels, dal, pad thai – yep, he can manage those.  It is harder to eat beef satay with six teeth, and this morning I had to tell him that walnuts were probably out of the realm of possibility.

Come on, baby, just imagine what you could do with a couple of mashers.

 

I’ve given in to the temptation.  I’ve been here.  But, I have put a cap on it.  Three wrong answers and I have to stop for the day.  Otherwise, I’ll spend all day at it.

20 responses to “Various and sundry

  1. I just had to let you know I have the same problem with commenting/reading, etc. I think I have only commented here a few times, but I actually read every day. I always feel guilty that I don’t have time to comment anywhere! I guess it just feel good to know I am not alone in my turmoil. ;)

    Hopefully Benjamin won’t follow the example set by my late teether. He finally started getting all of these teeth just in time to decide he didn’t like many foods after all. LOL

    -t

  2. Oh, geez. It was hard to leave the free rice site. I just spent way too much time there.

    I read here each time you post. Sometimes I comment. Sometimes I don’t. It’s all good. :)

  3. i too wish Ally posted more.

    and google reader, while alarmingly efficient, is the devil.

  4. That’s ok, I totally recommended it to you before Google became the new terrorist.

    I;m not sure how well Bloglines is actually working, there seems to be a lot of blogs not updating recently. I may have to look at other options. But I’ll be dammed if I am going back to Google now.

    In Pride and Prejudice Mr Darcy says “My good opinion once lost is lost forever”. I’m like that. :)

    The worst thing is, there is a lot of kids who are going to have a not so good Christmas this year. Why? Because their Mommies who were able to work at home by blogging ads etc are now out of work. So yeah cheers thanks a lot for that one, Google.

    If anyone doesn’t know of what I speak – Is Google The New Terrorist?

    Cheers,
    Snoskred

  5. I do like your blog and I do like your comments but I completely understand that time can be scarce …

    I totally liked the Free Rice site – too bad I can’t use it for training … lol

  6. Google Reader is a harsh, harsh master.

    I am addicted to freerice. I suppose there are worse kinds of addictions.

    I dig Ally too.

  7. That’s probably for the best, because how many of my snarky comments do you really want to read in a week?

    As many as I can get. :D

  8. The Free Rice thing is insidious and diabolical – stunning timewaster.

    I use Bloglines – I guess I got used to it. Is Google really the enemy?

    Cheers!

  9. I’m still living under a rock – I don’t even use Google reader – I’m going to give it a try because I spend far too much time doing it my way – take care and see you soon.

  10. i feel the same way about Ally!

    and pad thai. yum.

    and I could read your snarky comments every day of the week, Emily. :)

  11. Well, I use G**gle Reader, and don’t have a qualm about it. It works, I read. I only have so much brain room to analyze the snot out of things.

    The reasons that I don’t comment on certain posts tend to be when they get out of control long, preachy (re:something that isn’t relevant to me) or if someone just posts famous quotes and photos lifted from the internet.

    That is all.

  12. Your first comment is oh so true – and I know this having married the fourth of four boy who now zealously guards his food.

  13. I read, I comment. I use the reader. Um, there was more to that comment and I forgot because today I am so very very tired.

  14. Salmon is Asher’s favorite food.

  15. Yes, true, great, ditto and good point. I know, I understand, and it’s all good. :)

    Julie
    Using My Words

  16. Why did you have to put up that Free Rice link?!!!

    I am now totally addicted.

    But, at the same time, I feel really bad. I was kickin’ some vocab butt and feeling as if I was feeding the world. Then, I looked at my total and it was only 110 grains of rice. How much is that? Maybe a bowl?

    Well, I hope to god that there are some folks with good vocabulary out there!

  17. Yeah that free rice page is addictive. I can’t stop myself though.

    I know what you mean about the reading and commenting. It’s overwhelming to keep it up. But I know you’re there and you know I’m here, so let’s just call it a wash and not feel guilt!

  18. Wow, Emily, thanks for this nice bling bling! And your description of my writing– coming from you, the master of writing– wow again. Thank you for making my day.

    As for me posting more often– I’m getting a lot of flack from friends and family, too! “What’s up, you’ve been slacking off on your blog!” etc etc. The thing is that I don’t know how to write every day without my writing getting diluted to the point of losing all its flavor. I only blog when I’m inspired about a certain topic, and in between times, I just stew until something is ready to flow out the tips of my fingers. Anyway, thanks Emily, and thanks to your commenters for their nice words, too. Who doesn’t like hearing that people dig them?

  19. PS
    I resisted the free rice site (even though several people have given me the link) until it appeared on your blog today. Oy! Fun site! I keep looking for the catch (“free” actually equals rice farmed over the nuclear waste dump that wouldn’t be marketable anywhere else, or some such slime…) but I haven’t found one. Anyone else?

  20. Well written blog. I like.