Sleep deprivation

            Yesterday, I started to realize that there was a series of tasks piling up, all of which would require a block of free time without children.  People have been sending baby gifts, and the “thank you” list is getting pretty long.  I have run out of blog posts and was hoping to write a few.  My legs have gotten so hairy that they are themselves now begging to be waxed.  And, I really needed to catch up on some sleep.

            In the afternoon, I got a small chunk of time.  My legs are still hairy.  I have not written any posts.  And you can be damned sure I didn’t write any thank you notes.

            I am, however, a little less tired now.

            So, in lieu of an actual post, I give you this quote from Benjamin, as he ran into the room carrying a Halloween decoration.  “This my skettelin.  Him got bones!”

            If I have time to write today, I might.  Or I might get my legs waxed.

11 responses to “Sleep deprivation

  1. Exactly why I’m not posting more often these days. You know what they should give at baby showers? Chunks of time when they’re willing to take the baby while you get something done. Now that is something that I would gladly write a thank you note for.

  2. Sleep is a wonderful thing.

    Thank you notes are the bane of my existence.

  3. Sleep and shaving…. the two biggest gifts you can give a parent.

  4. Yeah, I’d go for the hairless legs myself. We can wait.

  5. I love kid-speak — it’s always a good post!

  6. I don’t know, “him got bones” kinda covers it nicely. Made me laugh.

  7. “him got bones” That’s the best post I’ve read all day.

  8. Sleep, sleep, sleep.
    You’ve been writing more posts than I have & I don’t have a newborn, just a new job. You’re way ahead of the game as far as I am concerned!

  9. Sleep away, dear Emily! And keep those cute toddler quotes coming in the meantime. Him got bones indeed!

  10. I agree with all the others – sleep, essential, leg waxing, essential for morale. We’re not going anywhere.

  11. sleep, sleep, sleep. (If only he could type- he’d be in business!!! and so would you!!)