We’ve been sort of busy

            A year ago, we were nearing the end of our two-year stint in London.  We had rented out the dream house we owned in Philadelphia because we knew the London thing was of finite duration.  We were set to leave in late March 2008 to return to our house, our friends, and the preschool we had signed up for in Philly.

            And then the decision finally came down the line just before Christmas day.  We would be moving to Los Angeles.

            So, a year ago, we were wrapping our heads around a rather sizable shift in our plans.  Instead of returning to the familiar, a mere two hours away from J’s parents, we would be moving to a city I had only ever seen for 36 hours, a nation away from our children’s closest relatives.

            A year ago, we were definitely only having two children.  We had given away all our baby stuff as soon as Benjamin was done with it because we had no plans of a third.

            Here I sit, our bonus baby zonked out in my arms, in Los Angeles.  Between last year’s Boxing Day and this one is packed a frantic preschool search from the other side of the world, temporary housing, finding a new home, making friends, learning an entirely new city, Benjamin starting preschool, and one very surprising pink line.

            I hit a low sometime in the middle of it.  The boys have been stretched and pulled.  But, we are surviving all the changes, and don’t think for a moment that I don’t realize how totally and absurdly lucky we are.

            A year ago, I had no idea what to expect from 2008.  I certainly never expected it to be this beautiful.

10 responses to “We’ve been sort of busy

  1. Lovely. 2008 has been a year of enormous contrast – for the world as well. I have high hopes for 2009 for all of us.

  2. I’m glad your unexpected 2008 was so great. Mine had more lows than highs, but that’s mostly deployment stuff. The bits with my son…all that is wonderful! I can’t get over how fast kids grow and change and learn and grow…

    Happy Christmas! :)

  3. It made me happy to read this. (That’s a tall order, too!)

  4. You just never know where you’re going to end up, but somehow it usually works out. Let’s hope 2009 is much less of a roller coaster. I love roller coasters, but I’m ready for more of a merry-go-round kind of year for all of us.

  5. Isn’t it amazing how we can find ourselves in places we never dreamed of just one or two or five years before. It seems we can never know where life will lead us if we are brave enough to actually LIVE it. It seems to me that I cannot fathom the long path I am on, but I can make a difference through the little decisions and choices I make on the daily level. and to answer your other post’s question… that is how find meaning in my life. Trust trust be brave. Live. –sky

  6. I appreciate how life surprises us constantly, especially if we are willing to say ‘yes.’ We’ve shifted what we thought our plans were going to be so many times and I am curious to see what 2009 brings. Since our boys were born, we’ve lived in three states , in three completely different settings, doing different work, and the six-year-olds are on their fourth ‘school.’ For the first time, we are really thinking about trying to really settle down & create bigger community (while still dreaming of living abroad again at some point—ahhhh).

    Do you think you’ll be in LA for some time?

  7. life is full of twists, turns, jolts and surprises. We just sit back, hang on tight and enjoy the ride.

    lovely post.

  8. Funny how one person’s adventure is another person’s homecoming. Here I am in Germany dreaming of LA. . .

  9. Our 2009 is full of uncertainty. We are going to try to move to Sweden (deadline is spring 2010, at the latest). We can’t decide about possible babies. We are trying to get rid of most of our stuff.

  10. Oh, this is so so beautiful