Now, here’s something to repent

I know, I know.  I am off topic a lot today.  I’ll be back on focus tomorrow, I promise.  Please read this.  President Bush has plans to veto a very important bill that would expand health coverage for children whose families are working hard but struggling to make ends meet.  It has strong bipartisan support and will be funded by taxing tobacco. 

If you wish to email the President, you can send your thoughts to comments@whitehouse.gov .  Should you have a hard time formulating an email, feel free to use the text of mine:

Dear President Bush,

S-CHIP provides health insurance for children.  Tobacco provides lung cancer.  Tax tobacco and fewer people will smoke (making them healthier) while more kids will have medical insurance (making them healthier). 

Works for me.

15 responses to “Now, here’s something to repent

  1. Excellent heads up Emily. Thank you.

  2. succinct and fantastic.

    bush… um… is neither

  3. Ah, and another breastfeeding response= from my friend, writer Sarah Thyre-
    Really great-
    http://feministing.com/archives/007752.html

  4. to the point, dude. perfect.

  5. Emily – SCHIP is a wolf in sheep’s clothing. It isn’t about children or even being used just for children. It is socialized healthcare being used for adults. Yes, it is being used for adults who are making 4x the poverty line.

    In the end, it is a nice SOUNDING program. In reality, it is socialized medecine.

  6. One other note – more insurance does not equal more healthy people.

  7. Curt,

    I thought it was restricted to children. Where do you find it being used for adults? Send me the info!!

    As to 4x the poverty line — that’s just over $60,000 for a family of four. When I was making 1/2 that for just me, I had a hard time making ends meet in a major city, especially given all the costs of a professional life. S-Chip is designed for the gap so that folks don’t let their kids’ insurance be the place they cut corners. The poverty line is set very low and I don’t begrudge helping those who are working but not making a lot ensure that their children are covered.

    I do know that having insurance makes me and my kids more healthy. We go to the doctor when we have, say, really sore throats, and we find out it is strep. Of course, here in the land of NHS, we don’t find out for a week, but eventually we do get antibiotics.

    Emily

  8. Hi, I NEVER comment, and I really don’t know a single thing about this bill, but I just wanted to say that if you’re going to write to your congressman, the best way to do it is a paper letter. They are required by law to count them, so they usually get more notice.

    That’s all, carry on.

  9. SCHIP’s definition of children is anyone under 25.

    SCHIP’s definition of low income is 400% the poverty line or $82,600 for a family of four.

    Yes, SCHIP was allegedly designed for children and in reality it seems to be the Trojan Horse for socialized health care. The current SCHIP bill also proposes to eliminate some of the free market elements that exist today.

    Some want big-government parent, some don’t. I don’t. It gets people killed.

    And let’s not forget – this costs money. Someone has to pay for it. Who? More taxes? More debt?

  10. Hmmm. Where are you getting 400% from? The federal guidelines hold at 250% or at most 300%. Some states go over that, but this is a federal bill to allow it to be up to 300% in all states.

    The funding would come from a tobacco tax.

    Hi, Valerie. I live in London just now, so paper letters would not get there till the legislation was long past…

  11. Interesting post and informative comments, Emily! Thanks for giving us all the heads up. I happen to agree that more insurance usually does mean healthier people. I know I wouldn’t visit the doc very much at all if I didn’t have insurance. My husband has a few scars on his body because he got cut when he was little and his family didn’t have insurance so didn’t go to the doctor.

    Your letter is great. Thanks for this.

  12. So Ally’s comment is why our health care costs so much. When people have insurance, they go for everything pushing those costs onto others. And why not, it’s ‘free’ after the co-pay. Scarring is bad – and if it is disfiguring or life threatening I understand – but if it is cosmetic, why should everyone else pay?

    Emily – I got the 400% figure from the WSJ. Not sure on their source. I think it does vary state to state. Existing tobacco taxes are already spent (of course) and raising taxes on tobacco drives down future purchases which is good, less smoking. It also reduces the overall tobacco tax revenue. (fewer packs sold times a higher rate can be less than more packs sold at a lower rate) So raising tobacco taxes not only might not fund the SCHIP bill, it might cut into dollars already coming in, that are already spent as well.

  13. Curt —

    It sounds like you are just opposed to “socialized” health care rather than anything specific with SCHIP.

    I think that you seriously need to give an alternative to “socialized” medicine that in fact works better.

    Having access to medical care should be a right not a privilege. It should be universal. Care should not be based on how much you make or how much you can pay.

    Just 41 days of the war in Iraq would pay for this entire program. And, it seems rather funny to me how conservatives are crying scared about “socialized” medicine and tax dollars when they seem perfectly willing to spend through the nose for a killing machine in Iraq. It makes absolutely no sense.