Maybe it’s a dybbuk?

J’s parents do not get much time with their grandsons, given that there are five time zones and an ocean between them.  Our boys adore their grandparents, the grandparents adore their grandchildren, and everyone wishes they could see one another more often.  Because we are such accommodating parents, we decided to give them all the opportunity to spend a little quality time together without us around to interfere.  J’s parents are in London visiting, and – much as we really wanted to stay and help them care for the children – we decided to cash in on some hotel points and leave town for a few days so they could have some good, solid bonding time with their grandchildren.

Talk about sacrificing for your children.           

“Where will you go?” people asked.           

“It doesn’t matter,” we answered.  Frankly, we have spent very little time out of the hotel room.  If they catheterized me, I am not sure I would actually want to get out of bed.           

Our plan got a little wrench thrown in it the first night.  We went to sleep around 10:30, after a few frantic calls to L.A. preschools to determine whether they will have spots in early April so that Zachary is not out of school for six months.  (We do understand that he won’t fall behind academically if he misses a few months of preschool, but I do not think I will survive if he does not have someone else to talk to for six straight months.)  It was absolutely delicious getting into bed knowing no one would wake me up in the morning.           

What I did not count on was getting awakened long before morning light.  Around about 1:30, we were awakened by a click, strange music, and an eerie glow.  Disoriented, we both looked about, trying to figure out what was going on.  Finally, one or the other of us realized that the television, of its own accord, had switched on.  J stumbled out of bed, grabbed the remote, and turned the box off.  We went back to sleep.           

Three minutes later, a click, strange music, and an eerie glow.  The T.V. was back on.  J grabbed the remote.  “And stay off!”           

Two minutes later, another click.  “Are you kidding me?!”  When he could not find the plug through his sleep-fogged eyes, I called the front desk.             

“Um, I think we offended your T.V.  Maybe it’s because we didn’t watch it last night.”  Two people came up, and the switch to turn off the power socket was located.  We figured we could address the root problem at a more civilized hour.           

The next day, slightly grumpy, we woke up and proceeded with our plan to relax in the room all day.  I read blogs, J read the paper, and we ordered room service.  Every now and then, we heard a click, and one of us would reach for the remote, hoping to convince the television we just weren’t in the mood.

17 responses to “Maybe it’s a dybbuk?

  1. Wow. Did that not just totally freak you out? I would have had to change rooms…

  2. I’m glad you’ve gotten some well deserved time off. Sometimes it’s so hard to just take a break. I look forward *like crazy* to getting my mid January break. need it. want it. gotsta have it.

  3. very funny about the TV. wierd, but funny. congrats on getting away for a couple of days. that’s the best.

  4. Oh you are so extremely sacrificing for the well-being of the kids and the grands. 🙂

    I hope you manage to enjoy yourself despite Poltergeist TVs and no kids. 🙂

    Julie
    Using My Words

  5. Oh Emily–that is funny in a terrible way. I hope you are getting lots of well-deserved rest. John and I try to do this once a year and it is WOOOOOOONDERFUL.

  6. you are quite a woman to make such a sacrafice for your family. you truly, truly are 🙂 and a woman after my own heart, too.

  7. I want to get away from my kids, too.

    Can I come with? I promise I won’t hog the bed OR snore.

  8. What a cute story – a little creepy, but cute! Take care have a Happy Holiday. See you soon. Kellan

  9. you really are amazing, oh thee communer with the TV ghosts

  10. Heh!
    (I have two daughters – one is 8 and one is 2. The 2 year old is the concert disrupter…)

  11. I am so incredibly jealous! Enjoy your time away!

  12. TV is a temptress, good job at turning her off!

  13. All that clicks would have driven me crazy. Anyway, Merry Christmas to you & your family!

  14. “Um, I think we offended your T.V.” Ha, ha! Now that is the “A” material. Too funny.

  15. Merry Christmas!

    Email me with your address – you won the book and tea contest!

  16. Hi Emily – I hope you had a wonderful Christmas. I will see you soon. Kellan

  17. See, I love the possessed T.V. It adds character. Now that is a vacation story worth hearing!