If only it were that simple…

Zachary: Mommy, why do you work after you put us in bed?

Me: Because I have a lot of work to do honey, but I want to be with you when you are awake.

Zachary: You should go to bed if you are really tired.

            Julie, who ever so eloquently uses her words, awarded me this:

candyhearts2.jpg

Now, technically, I have gotten this before, but, dude, I’ll take anything Julie wants to give me.  The award originates here, and recipients are to go over and register themselves.

            I worry sometimes about these awards.  Clearly, I think quite a few people are a daily dose, or I wouldn’t be reading their blogs.  Yet, if I listed 58 names here, no one would click, which would defeat the purpose.  You see, what I like about getting these awards is they give me a chance to pass them along to other people, so that maybe someone who has not discovered a great blog will head on over. 

            What I do not like about these awards is that it may give the impression that, because I have not named your blog, I am excluding you or I have some people I like better than others.  This is not the case, I promise.  I love to hear from new people, so everyone should always feel free to leave comments.  And, there are many, many blogs I like that I do not have a chance to recognize.  Please do not feel I am trying to be cliquey or exclusionary; I have found the people here in the blogosphere to be anything but.

            I am passing this award on to a few of the blogs I read, and I chose these particular ones because of specific things they have recently done:

                      Sober Briquette — Because her comments always hit the mark

                      One Plus Two — Because her posts make me want to be better

                      Woman on the Verge — Because any woman who mentions Habermas in a post on Valentine’s Day…

                      Milk Breath and Margaritas — because I jump for excitement when I see she has a new post up in her series on work/family balance

           I have three postcards from the British Museum and one from Hampton Court Palace to the first commenters who ask for them.

18 responses to “If only it were that simple…

  1. Would love to see a post card.

    You already know how I feel about the awards and such. I feel like you have acknowledged me in the exact ways I told you. 🙂

  2. You are one of my daily doses, for sure.

    And I wish Zach were in charge of my bedtime.

  3. You are one of my daily doses, for sure.

    And I wish Zach was in charge of my bedtime.

  4. I’ll take a postcard, thanks! Congrats. on the award.

    I’ve never once felt you to be exlusionary.

    Also, great picks! All three!

  5. that’s exClusionary to you.

  6. I do like awards (and agree that choosing is difficult) because they so often provide me with wonderful new blogs to read. I’m very glad I found yours, Emily.

  7. I love when you get awards, because you always lead me to more great blogs! 🙂

    And the sheer amount of blogs that you read amazes me!

  8. thank you for making me feel special.

  9. Kids really are smarter than us.

    Congrats on the award!

  10. You are my daily dose as well, darlin’. You deserve it.

  11. I breathe a sigh of relief whenever I don’t get one of those. It’s nice and I’m always touched but mine is the blog where memes and awards go to die. And I never get off my butt and change my html to add those suckers in.

  12. Love the advice from the little one. So wise. 🙂

  13. Can I take it from the fact that you have some postcards that you have had the chance to do some last-minute sightseeing? I hope so!

  14. Aw, thanks! I’m blushing.

  15. Very good advice!!!

    thanks for sharing!

  16. Oh, thank you! There are many (manymanymany) days when I couldn’t write a post if my life depended upon it, but I feel right on target with my comments.

  17. What excellent choices! I know what you mean about awards, though, and I’ve handled them in varying forms.

  18. Congrats on the award! Very well deserved!