Our whole family failed health class

            We had fertility issues.  Of this I have made no secret.  We actually know three other couples who had fertility issues and met with success using precisely the same drug that is responsible for the medical miracle known as Zachary.

            One of those couples is a cousin and his wife.  Feeling some sort of cousinly rivalry, they couldn’t just conceive a child on the same drug we used. No, they conceived twins just a few months after I got pregnant with Benjamin.  Twin boys (who, I might add, were successfully breastfed for a very long time.  I add this because every time I think of it, I gasp in awe of their mother.  I think I would have needed to be catheterized had I breastfed two children at the same time.)

            Well, it seems we are once again in lockstep, because these fools were using the same damned birth control that we were.  With the same results.  When are people going to learn?  A PAST HISTORY OF INFERTILITY IS A LOUSY METHOD OF BIRTH CONTROL.  Write it down, OK?

            So, to our cousins, congratulations.  To the other two couples we know who conceived children on the same drug as we did?  I hope you people are paying attention.

15 responses to “Our whole family failed health class

  1. Well, on the other hand it might be the healthiest and easiest birthcontrol on this planet, you know … you cannot blame people for using that one, then. 🙂

  2. Congrats to your cousins!

  3. perhaps the drugs prime the pump, as it were? 😉

  4. Remind me to use neither one of those methods. This ride is closed.

    Congratulations to your cousin!

  5. Heh….I must be the most fertile woman on the planet. It didn’t matter what B.C we used (and sometimes more than one). I have three lovely surprises and one husband who now has no more little swimmers (snip, snip…).

  6. It’s crazy how that always happens to “infertile” couples!

    I’ve heard of this happening so many times.

    One woman I worked with . . .it took her 5 years to get pregnant with the first (including using fertility treatments)

    She ended up pregnant with #2, when her baby was 2 months old.

    Seriously . . .her children ended up being like a year apart . . .almost to the day! 🙂

  7. Congrats to the Cousins! We’re done. Hubby said so.

    I think we’re gonna get a new puppy.

  8. Send some of that stuff my way, huh?

  9. LOL. That ain’t never happening to ME.

  10. what’s so funny is that when your post title included the words health class, I knew someone was preggo.

  11. I wonder if that’s the same drug my sister used. She just found out she is pregnant after needing fertility drugs and IUI to conceive. She has an 8 year old and 4 year old twins. They were not using birth control because…well…why would they???

  12. Heh. When John and I were engaged, we were told that our combined fertility issues would make conception nothing short of a miracle. We were told to begin “trying” as soon as possible, since I would require a hysterectomy sooner rather than later, and age is of course, always a factor. We were told it would take months, if not longer, to conceive Laura.

    Laura was born six months after we were married.

  13. That’s fantastic. 🙂

    My OB told me (after months of confusing and frustrating experiences trying to conceive the first time) that I would likely never conceive without use of drugs. I found out a few weeks later that I was pregnant at the time he told me this news…

  14. I can’t even recall how many times I’ve heard this same story.

    Congratulations to you and to your cousin! Babies all around!