Closing

            I have been holding out on you.  In my defense, it happened really fast, and I wanted to post about it, but with one thing and another, I didn’t.  OK, to be completely honest, I am more superstitious than I like to admit.  And, too much has gone wrong on this front lately to make me comfortable until it was a sure thing.  But, as of today, it is a sure thing.

            We close on a house today.  And, for awhile, I wasn’t sure we’d get here on this house either.  Several times, it seemed like it would fall through.  Last week, they changed our closing date on us, after we had set up movers, contractors, and child care.  Why did they change the date?  Because they waited till a week before to look for movers and then found, much to their surprise, that they couldn’t get any movers for a Sunday. 

            But, it is over.  After today, they will be gone and we will be in.  (Due to some last-minute wrangling, this will all happen at the same time.  Should you be in Los Angeles and wish to observe complete and total chaos, come on over.)  The boys and I will not move in for another two weeks, because we are shortly getting on a plane to go visit the East Coast, but J will move in and work on setting some things up.  (He will NOT, however, touch my books.  Are you reading, babe?  You are, under no circumstances, to try to unpack my books.  I will decide how to organize and arrange them, and I alone will unpack each and every tome that has been stuffed into storage for two years. Go get an obsession of your own.)

            The house is half the size of what we had in Philadelphia and is almost twice the cost.  Some housing slump.  Yet, it is charming, has a yard, and is all that we really need.  There is a converted garage that needs some work but will function nicely as a playroom opening directly onto the yard.  There is a deck.  Most importantly, I have spotted both a really good children’s book store and a fire station just down the road.  (Around the corner; the house is residential, but there is a commercial cross-street just down the block.  Don’t worry, our street will not have fire trucks screaming down it all day and night.)

            I wish I could describe it, but it is not all that exciting to anyone except for us.  I wish I could post pictures, but then all my stalkers would be able to find me.  So, suffice it to say that it will be ours and will suit us just fine.

            It will be our home until another house is.  I have moved too much, too often, to put much stock in the abstract concept of “home.”  At our wedding, J and I danced our first dance to Billy Joel’s “You’re My Home” because, for me, he’s pretty much all the home I have ever had.

            I tried to see our first two houses as lifetime homes.  I am no longer naïve.  A house is where we live, where we play, where we bathe before bed.  A home is wherever we all are until we move somewhere else.

            As long as it is not beige and possessed by an evil coffee table.

30 responses to “Closing

  1. congrats on the house…and – at least from my perspective – how totally dreamy to get to escape the first blush of unpacking! though i get you about the books. and i am happy that the new place will take you far from the beige, give you some kind of place to nest for awhile.

    i understand what you mean about home. transience has been the hallmark of my life…my mum has always lived in apartments, there is no family home, and Dave and i moved every year (or more, as we were itinerant for eight months, just travellin’) during the first years of our relationship. as of April 2005, i had not had the same address for more than 20 months since 1988. but then we moved in here, under the worst of circumstances…and while i could leave without heartbreak, the inertia has gotten me. i do not want to go anywhere, anymore. which i suppose is a kind of home, a truce with the concept?

  2. I’m relieved for you. This signals the end of these many weeks of transition, & you’ll be settled before the baby. Whew.

  3. Congratulations!! Post pics of the inside at least, once you’re set up.

    I also wish we were in “the” home, the one where pencil marks on the doorframe as the children grow won’t be left behind, painted over by the new owners in 5 or 7 years. Sigh.

  4. Mazel Tov!! I know this will make you all feel more settled and at “home”.

    Safe travels on Thursday… give my love to all.

  5. congratulations! I hope it serves you well.

  6. Congratulations! The house sounds lovely.

    I’m with you about the books. You will have a wonderful reunion with them when you get to unpack them. (And I’m not too keen on beige, either.)

  7. Congratulations! I hope this helps you feel more settled about L.A. Once you get your obsession set up, that is.

  8. Yay!! I’m so glad you have a house to put your home in. 🙂 And best of luck with the travels – I’ll be thinking about ya!

  9. Yeah! At least, it will give you and the boys some sense of stability. Hopefully your husband will have everything unpacked when you return except for the books…right?

  10. ukrainemom

    You have stalkers? Wow!

    Congratulations on the house. It will be nice to be a home together somewhere that is yours for a little while, at least.

  11. Congrats on the new house! It sounds quite charming, actually. Glad you got the yard for your little “outshide” guys.

    Hoping for a smooth move, a good trip, and many happy hours on the deck when you return home. Home. Isn’t that a lovely word?

  12. ah, congrats on the house! 🙂

    I know what you mean about house vs. home. I haven’t stayed anywhere longer than 2 years out of the last 10. And I don’t see that trend ending anytime soon.

  13. Congrats! I’m superstitious, too. I understand why you’ve held out.

  14. Oh Yeah! That’s great. Now you can get a little more settled and get in the groove.

    Congrats!

  15. Oh good! Hope the house becomes home quickly.

  16. Rock on. Good luck.
    Deck. Yard. Nearby kids’ bookstore.
    Sounds great!

  17. What a perfect song you picked for your first dance! Wow!
    Congratulations on your new home! I hope it is all you wished for. 🙂

  18. Hooray Emily! This will feel so good. The deck and yard and converted garage– it all sounds fantastic.

    Good luck on your trip Thursday and I hope the house is in good order (except your books) when you return with the boys.

  19. So happy for you! Congratulations! Hope you get settled quickly! 🙂

  20. How exciting your life is, Emily. Every time I pop in here, I want to catch my breath on your behalf. I hope your boys love D.C. and that your books make your house a little bit more of a home too. Congratulations (again!)

  21. Wonderful news, Emily! Speaking as someone who once moved while pregnant, I’m happy for you that you don’t have to do the initial move-in stuff.

    I would be exactly the same way about my books. And I could stand to adopt some of your perspective about what home is.

    Hope you have a great trip to DC.

  22. hooray! I’m curious what part of town you ended up buying in, and where the boys will be going to school, if you don’t mind sharing

  23. Oh YAY! I am excited for your house!

  24. that’s AWESOME! i am so happy for you.

    YESSS.

  25. I’m so glad you get to leave your temporary housing. Congratulations.

  26. Congratulations! Perhaps you and J could celebrate your good fortune by burning an effigy of the evil coffee table ?

  27. Congratulations on your new home! It may not be the home you live in until the children are grown, but you can put down some roots. Like a Cypress tree’s knees – “a part of the root system which grows above the soil and are said to support the tree in an unstable environment”, roots do not only go deep into the ground.

    Oh, and I totally understand the book unpacking issue, I would be the same way!

  28. Pingback: My ass-backwards way of counting blessings « Wheels on the bus

  29. i’m so happy to hear about your house.

    though, i’m jealous, because nearly four years after moving in to the house we’re in? my books are still in storage.