Like a prom dress

            Tomorrow, we head for Family Camp.  The boys will be in activities all day, their grandparents will be there to dote on them, J will only have to work 3 or 4 hours a day, and I have a stack of books.  We will be in Sequoia National park, doing things like having campfires.  Someone else will be preparing meals for Zachary to refuse to eat, and Benjamin will have all he can eat. 

            The only downside I can think of is that I am in the bathroom several times a night at this stage in my pregnancy, and we will need to use the communal bathhouses for that particular activity.  We’re bringing a potty for the boys, but I think I may use it in the wee hours…

            While my husband will need to work, I am hoping to largely unplug.  If I can stand it, I will not check email, read blogs, or post.  When I return, I will probably mark all as read.  It’s a radical step, I know, but I think I’m ready for it.

            So, have a lovely week.  I’m off to the land of S’mores and bug spray.

19 responses to “Like a prom dress

  1. See you when you get back!

  2. Have a wonderful break. You deserve it.

    I hope you get to read some books!

  3. Sounds frighteningly familiar. Have a blast!

  4. Oh good. You need that!

    Have a great week!!

  5. Good luck with that one. I sent my daughter away with a vat of bug spray but did she use it? Not a chance.
    Cheers

  6. have a swell trip. it sounds lovely.

  7. Sounds wonderful. Have a blissful time!

  8. Hooray Emily! Have a great trip! And mark all as read and don’t give it a second thought when you return.

  9. You SO deserve a quiet, relaxing week! Hope the holiday is everything you hope for and more. I love how the US is so good at providing activities for children on holiday. This hardly ever happens in the UK and so we all bumble around having to work harder than ever to amuse children. Going away with kids here is like staying home but worse!

  10. I’d use the kid potty in the middle of the night! I hate going to those communal things when I’m skinny, young and healthy!

  11. Enjoy, enjoy. And I’d totally use the kid potty.

  12. Have fun! I look forward to hearing about it all when you get back!

  13. Enjoy it. That sounds so lovely right about now. Have at least 2 smores for me!

  14. have a great trip – except for the bathroom situation it sounds great!

  15. What is Family Camp? It sounds cool! I wish I could go to camp!

  16. I just took my summer bloggy vacation. I feel refreshed and all atingle. Enjoy…everything but the potty.

  17. fun! we first went to sequoia in june of 99, and we laughed so hard at all the bear signs, which make it sound as if a bear is hiding behind every tree, waiting for you to turn your head to the left so he can creep up on the right and take your hotdog right out of your hand (that being said, of course, it is important to put your food in a bear box, etc, etc…)

  18. Sounds fun!

    That’s what I just did. I got into my Google Reader for the first time in three weeks.

    So, tonight I’m starting fresh! 🙂