And, now, back to our regularly scheduled posts

            “Mommy,” he said, in a tone of voice that implies a monologue to follow.  “I am going to tell you a story from my music class at school.”  No pause that might allow someone else to cut in.  “There was a little boy and he had a dragon.  And he didn’t do any of the things that dragons are supposed to do.  He was really nice.  And then one day the boy went away and the dragon was really sad.”

            There the story ended.  He looked at me expectantly.  “Was this dragon named Puff?” I asked.

            “Yes,” he declared, as though I always know the names for the characters in his stories.

            “And was the little boy named Jackie Paper?”

            “Yes,” after a moment’s thought.

            “And did you learn a song about them?” I went on

            “YES, Mommy!  Have you heard that song once before?”

            Once or twice, baby.  I have heard that song once or twice.

            

12 responses to “And, now, back to our regularly scheduled posts

  1. And in about 15 years, he’ll be saying “And Mommy, did you know the song is about smokin’ a doob?” And you’ll say “yes, honey. I’d heard that once or twice.”

  2. whenever we go to the Cape we have to search for Puff’s cave.

  3. Puff the Magic Dragon used to make me cry like no other when I was younger.

  4. Loves it. I still get misty about that song.

  5. My friend and her father danced to that song at her wedding. Loved it.

  6. SIGH. Makes me feel old.

  7. Wait, I might have heard that song too. I love it that they think they are the first one to know and hear everything.

  8. Yup. I used to sing it and SOB and sob because I would have had a dragon. Only I wouldn’t have named it anything poncy like Puff (didn’t learn about doob smokin’ connections until long, long later). It’s fun to see it be fresh for the next little ones to come along!

  9. ha ha. I love when MQ gets so excited because I have heard about something she knows. But sometimes it backfires, because she just assumes I should know everything. Like songs. I often have to make up my own tunes to things, because she is not very good at teaching them to me. 😉

  10. Oh boy that songs always brings a tear to my eye. I loved the story – a parable of how readers always invent the tale for the first time when they read it! Your boy clearly has the makings of a great literary critic.

  11. Oh man. I have heard that song once too many times, six times in a row, three times in a row, every time we get in the car.

    Do you have the Peter Paul & Mommy record? It’s divine.