Since so many of you have asked

            When I was 35 weeks pregnant with Zachary, my first child, I started getting Braxton Hicks contractions every night.  They intensified each night, until one day, two weeks later, I found myself in Labor and Delivery wondering aloud whether the anesthesiologist was some kind of a sadist for taking so long to show up and give me an epidural.

            My labor was not all that long, 14 or 15 hours in total.  My delivery, however, was a disaster.  Despite all the rumors that an epidural makes delivery take longer because the woman cannot feel to push, I was apparently an excellent pusher.  The OB and the nurses were pretty damned impressed, in fact, with how well I pushed.  Especially given that I pushed for three and a half goddamned hours.  The suctioned, they episiotomized, and then they finally gave up.  Although the tip of Zachary’s head was coming out with every push, the rest of that scrawny little body was staying inside of me. 

            The verdict?  My pelvis was too small for a baby to get through.  They pushed him back in and wheeled me down the hall for a Cesarean section.  He came out purple and battered from all that time in the birth canal, and I was fortunate enough to emerge with two sets of scars.

            So, it was pretty easy to determine that my second child would be delivered by planned c-section.  At 38 weeks, we calmly went to the hospital, got me some pain control, and the doctor reopened the scar.

            We had a c-section scheduled for this third baby for 39 weeks.  That may seem foolish, waiting so long, but I was hoping to avoid major abdominal surgery prior to my 35 birthday, given that my mother died before her 35th.  So, we scheduled it for the 26th of September, one day after my birthday and one week before my due date.

            And then I realized that meant I would be coming home from the hospital on Rosh Hashanah, which is even more inconvenient when you consider that my kids go to a Jewish preschool that closes for every single holiday.  So, we pushed it off. 

            I am scheduled for a c-section on October 3.  That also happens to be my due date.  It would be very convenient if I actually had the baby that day.  And maybe I will.  Every now and then, life turns out as we have planned it.

            I am having contractions every night, getting more intense and more regular each day.  I get them all day long, too, but the painful, I-can’t-talk ones are in the evening.  I have notes typed up, people on call, and a bag out (although not packed).  Chances are, this baby ain’t waiting for October 3.  Babies have a tendency to like to do things their way.

           While I cannot imagine a more fitting day than today for bringing a new life into the world, I just hope she waits until this afternoon.  I am planning on waxing my legs today.

20 responses to “Since so many of you have asked

  1. Thinking of you. Lots and lots.

  2. Good luck! No matter what day she comes, I hope that things go smoothly for all of you. Now go get those legs waxed…just in case 🙂

  3. Wow. My third came early. Best wishes!

  4. i’m 29 weeks and have had brax hick since about week 20, though they are not painful.

    best of luck to you and i hope it all works out.

    trisha
    http://www.amomsblog.wordpress.com

  5. Every OB likes a nice pair of waxed legs.

    Good luck to you.

  6. Waxed legs are a huge plus, Em.

  7. Seems utterly unfair that you have to deal with Braxton Hicks even though you will be having a c-section! Major surgery AND practice labor? Blech

  8. I hope all goes smoothly for you. Leg-waxing and all.

  9. 10/3 seems awfully far off when you put it that way.

    When I went in for my c-section with my second at 40 weeks, the monitor indicated I was having regular contractions, right on schedule. I didn’t feel a thing.

  10. Sorry, that was me, above. 🙂

  11. I’ve had some intermittent contractions since about 9 last night. Babies do whatever they want to do. Hheck, I even offered mine a car a minute ago. I am just so done.

    Hey I’m been meaning to ask you….boy or girl? Do you guys know?

  12. hope she waits until the 3rd for you!

  13. well, now I’ll be on edge waiting for news!

  14. Ooh, good luck! I hope s/he waits, but congratulations now!

  15. 🙂 I am so proud of you, mama

  16. “Babies have a tendency to like to do things their way.”

    Yup, so do two-year-olds and four-year-olds, etc, etc! Isn’t this parenting gig humbling?

    Wishing for an early October baby for you.

  17. Oh my goodness! Neither of my boys waited until their scheduled C-Section dates.

    Both arrived 3 weeks early.

    Wishing you the best! 🙂

  18. Thinking of you and wishing you lots of luck!

  19. Pingback: Thirty-eight plus one « Wheels on the bus