The birds sing words and the flowers croon

This one’s for Joel.

            The Disney skyline is dominated by the big attractions: the three Mountains – Space, Thunder, and Splash, the monorail, and that obnoxiously perfect yet functionless wonder, Cinderella’s Castle.  But, for those who are not fooled by the glitter and not taken in by the hype, for those who are not hoodwinked by the newest and most glamorous, for those who can appreciate truly winsome imagination, there is a refuge tucked away from the maddening crowds.

            Rumor has it that the Enchanted Tiki Room was Walt’s favorite attraction, and it is easy to understand why.  It is a place where weary park-goers can rest their ever-widening bottoms, breathe in the air conditioning, and be charmed for something like eleven straight minutes.  There never seem to be lines, not that Walt had to stand in them if there were.  It has excellent line economy, a term I use to denote my highly scientific calculation of the ratio of wait time to ride length.  Only It’s a Small World can compete, which is closed for renovations to accommodate Americans’ ever-increasing hiney size.

            I have long been smitten with the quaint animatronics and corny humor of the Tiki Birds.  So, when we got season passes to Disneyland, there was no doubt in my mind that we would need to introduce our children to Pierre, Fritz, and their gang.  I worried the thunder might frighten the boys.  Not so much.

            One morning in early summer, as we drove down for perhaps our fourth visit to the Land of Princesses and Flying Elephants, Benjamin said something from the backseat.  While his enunciation is usually pretty good, he was not yet quite two, and sometimes we weren’t always clear on what he was trying to tell us.  So, it took a few minutes for us to deduce that he was making a request.

            “Tiki birds.”  Sweeter words were never spoken.

            The Enchanted Tiki Room is now a fixture of our Disney mornings.  When we have had it with the hyperstimulation of Toontown, we head on over to Adventureland for a little quiet time with the Glee Club. 

            When Lilah was 3 weeks old, we took her along with her brothers for her very first Disney adventure, most of which she experienced with her head buried in my bosom.  I fed her on the train around the park and in line for the Jungle Cruise.  But, by far the best place to breastfeed in Disneyland?

            Surely you don’t need me to tell you.            

13 responses to “The birds sing words and the flowers croon

  1. Can you believe that I have NEVER been in there? I am seduced by the wild rides every time.

  2. I remember being hugely disappointed in Cinderella’s castle. The outside is misleading, and I guess I expected birds making the beds and mice altering clothes, or something just as magical. How poignant that it’s just a showpiece!

  3. I think the best place to nurse in Disney World is the Tomorrowland Transit Authority. It’s amazing how doing Disney with a nursing infant will give you a new way of appreciating certain attractions.

  4. I always liked the Enchanted Tiki Room when I was little.

  5. The Tiki, Tiki, Tiki, Tiki, Tiki room! I always loved the Tiki Room as a kid. And it is refuge. D-land is so crowded, not just because of the people but because they’ve continued to use up every spare inch of space.

    Most years we have Disney passes (let me know if you ever want to get together) and it was only recently that Marley went. She likes it. I don’t know if she loves it, but she does like it. It is one of those defining memories for me, though. Like an “E” ticket, my first time on Space Mountain, the Electric Light parade.

    (Now I feel like bursting into the Memories song!)

  6. poker chick's hubby

    As a kid we would go multiple times in a visit. I don’t think I even recognized it, but clearly the grandparents would need the breather a few times over the course of the day – and it doesn’t get much better than 10 minutes sitting down in an air conditioned room. The Country Bear Jamboree was another grandparent favorite… I detect a pattern

    Looks like the kids have good taste.

  7. Haven’t taken the kids to Disneyland yet, but will have to stop in there when we do. Sounds perfect.

  8. it’s a small world after all.

  9. I can’t believe that “It’s a Small World” is temporarily closed! That was my absolute favorite ride on my first trip to Disney (World–since we were closer to Florida than CA). Not that I was really expecting to take E to Disneyland on our next California trip as she’s so little, but even so…

  10. LOL, I grew up in SoCal, and have been to Disneyland at least once a year all of my life (more often after I went to work for them). And at 31 years old, for the first time ever THIS YEAR I saw the Tiki Room.

    And it was SO CUTE! Loved it. 😀

  11. he he

    except that at DisneyLand it’s Sleeping Beauty’s castle. Cinderella’s is at Disney World.

  12. it’s funny, when I was little my mother always loooved the Tiki Room while I found it kinda boring. My favorite was a toss-up between It’s a Small World or the Swiss Family Robinson Treehouse (which is now, sadly, gone).

    I grew up visiting L.A. once a year to visit family, we always went to Disneyland while we were out there. Some of my best childhood memories are there.

    Even as anti-Disney as I am now? I still have a soft spot in my heart for Disneyland. If I lived in SoCal I would no doubt want a season pass (though G might freak out if he heard me say that. lol). I realize just how hypocritical that is but my emotion seems to triumph over my ideology, at least in this case.

  13. Sure miss the show ya all have currently at Disneyland! We are stuck with the Under new Management tiki room here in Florida. Keep hearing runors that they may bring your show to Florida too in time for the 2011 WDW Magic Kingdom Anniv. Hope that one is true!