Challenge week seven: the good, the bad, and the dumpy

            The good thing about joining the Y is that I got to work out one day this week.  Unfortunately, Lilah only made it 20 minutes before summoning me back to the childcare room, where she followed in her brothers’ footsteps by nursing around an unhooked jog bra.  I did my best not to drip sweat on her and wondered, as I had for the other two children, whether she noticed that her meal was a bit saltier than usual.  After she finished, I gave her back to the childminders and dashed back to the locker room for a shower, whereupon I discovered the bad thing about joining the Y.

            Three-quarter length mirrors.

            We do not have a full-length mirror at home, so I had heretofore been spared a view of what my midsection has become.  Also, I am usually accessorizing with a baby worn right over my belly.  Standing there, naked, in the YMCA locker room, I came face-to-face with reality: I am not longer a hottie.  Shit, right now I don’t even qualify as a lukewarmie.

            I’m damned lucky that I am married, because there is no way I’d let some stranger see me from just below my breasts to just above my knees.  If my husband were ever to leave me, I’d need to only date men who are into ankles.  Because those are looking fine.

             On the bright side, I’m down a pound.

13 responses to “Challenge week seven: the good, the bad, and the dumpy

  1. Mirrors can really suck when we’re not prepared for them.

    I hate looking in mirrors right now… nothing fits right… I’m going to have to bite it and pull out my maternity clothes a lot sooner than my previous pregnancies. I don’t look pregnant right now; just like I’m getting fat in the middle. Terrible stage. Ugh.

  2. Congratulations on the work-out. Maybe hottie needs to be re-defined?

  3. Hey, you’re working out, so that’s half the battle. I’m not all that impressed with myself either right now, and the last time I had a kid was eight years ago.

    I just don’t look in the full-length mirror. The pain I’m in from sitting down in my jeans is all the info I need!

  4. That made me laugh! At least you are down a pound. Progress! I haven’t weighed myself lately and I am a little afraid too. Not enough exercising lately, what with the -15 degree temps and all.

  5. I know. I just spent 20+ minutes trying to put together a non-fumpy outfit and looking in a full-length mirror. I hate having clothes that don’t fit right. But I refuse to buy a whole new wardrobe (plus I can’t afford it!). I did get a few pairs of pants at Out of the Closet. But it’s just not the same. *sigh*

  6. I’m back down this week. A pound, maybe two. I can’t remember now what I started at. At our old house we had a double vanity. If you stood on my side you looked twice as big than if you stood on my husband’s side. Mirrors are evil.

  7. lol. dude I feel your pain. I *just* got my body back down to within 10 lbs. of my pre-pregnancy weight. I *finally* can look in the mirror and not cringe. But now? now I want to go through it all again? (sigh)

  8. I loathe those lights in the ladies’ restroom that make you look unbelievably old and sallow. I seem to encounter those a lot – or maybe I only hang mirrors in shadowy places at home. 🙂

  9. down a pound baby, W00T!

  10. down one pound (so that makes it up only a total of THREE since we started. sigh)

    but trying on a UNITARD as part of my costume, and opening only 6 DAYS AWAY has scared me into taking this much more seriously. MUCH more. I hope to be back to my starting point by next week.

    ack.

  11. You’ll see. Ten months up, ten months down. No exceptions unless you’re Heidi Klum, who is a genetic mutant. BTW, according to my husband, a hottie is a girl with a big chest.

  12. Way to go, Emily! Sounds like you’ve got it sorted out. The mirror (negative self-talk) can be a killer but hey, the important thing is that you’re into a routine.

  13. For what it’s worth, in my view being a “hottie” has much more to do with attitude and interest – I’ll just leave it at that – than with what one can see in a mirror.

    There are many females with great shapes who exude little sex appeal, and vice versa. I wonder if the same applies to men?