Because sometimes writing comes on paper with a binding

Kate asked if we are library members, and indeed we are.  I hadn’t been for awhile, and I surely never get a chance to browse for my own books.  So the other day when Hurricane Benjamin was at a play date under the care of our nanny, I took the calmer children to the library. Zachary got time in the children’s section and then graciously allowed me three minutes to look for some books of my own.  As we walked through the stacks and I grabbed a few things that looked appealing.  “Mommy, you want the hat book,” Zach suggested, pointing to a book that I had missed because it was down where only a four-year-old would see it.  Indeed, there was a picture of a hat on the spine.

So, if I am not around your blogs or posting here for a few days, you’ll know where to find me.  I am reading the hat book.

12 responses to “Because sometimes writing comes on paper with a binding

  1. Oh, good for you. I went by myself one day and brought home a stack of books that I have already had to renew (which means I’ve had them 3 weeks). Getting them isn’t the hard part – it’s making the time to open that binding.

  2. Oh. Reading a novel. It’s been a while for me.

    The book with a hat looks like an excellent choice, and something that I would enjoy. Let me know what you think of it.

  3. Hope the hat book is lovely – I’m trying to remember the last time I read a modern novel – too many work related books on my stack at the moment!

  4. The “hat” book. I hope it lives up to its cover.

  5. Man, I LOVE the library. When I decided to cut back on spending I rediscovered the library. And the best part was that instead of buying 1 or 2 books a month and rationing them out so that they lasted all month, I could check out multiple books and INHALE them. (I read really fast, in case you hadn’t guessed, LOL.) Seriously, it was like magic. (Only totally different. Ha!)

    MORE than worth the occasional dollar in late fees.

  6. Sounds perfect. I had a book on hold (So Brave, Young and Handsome by Leif Enger…but had to find my daughter’s overdue books and return them first…and now the book is off hold and I have to start all over. Definitely going back this week.)

    Have fun!

  7. LA has a great library system – put books on hold for FREE and pick them up at your local branch. do all your browsing at home, online, and at your own pace. not the same as doing it in the library, true, but with small children… It rocks. That’s how I get most of my books!

  8. A fine method of choosing books in libraries. I’ve often used it myself. 🙂

  9. I think the Unbearable Lightness of Being has a hat on the cover. This post stuck me with that picture in my head…. the hat. Kind of a weird men’s hat.

  10. good for you, love. good for you.