Saturday

            Having recently popped my cherry, I seem to be on a blogger-meeting roll.  Because I am lazy, cheap, and nursing a baby, you are unlikely to ever see me at a blogging conference.  I am all about the nearby bloggers, and Marste gets extra points for meeting me around the corner from my house.  So, you can imagine how much I wanted to meet her when I tell you I drove over an hour with two kids in the backseat.  Through a rainstorm.

            She’s moving out of the country, and she’s staying with relatives until then.  I just had to lay eyes on her once before she left.  So, J took Benjamin to Disneyland and I took Zachary on his very first blind date.

            We didn’t get to talk as much as I would have liked, what with the four-year-olds squabbling and the baby spitting up on the suede couch (did the stain come out?).  Then there was the moment I found myself explaining the specific details of the mechanics of breastfeeding to a very inquisitive little girl.

            It was over much too soon, because momma don’t mess with naptime, but I am grateful for the few hours we got to see each other.  Since I am surely not hauling my ass down to Belize, it is going to be an awfully long time before we get together again.

            But, we’ll need to do it again.  And maybe by then the kids will be old enough to refrain from pulling the table back and forth from each other at lunch time. 

11 responses to “Saturday

  1. I hear you on the conferences. I saw all the photos of the ladies and babies at BlissDom, and as lovely as they were I just can’t imagine doing it. I don’t like to drive the 45 minutes to the airport on my own with my little man. I am so not driving there and then getting on a plane with him. 😉

  2. i am jealous of you both (but happy for you both, as well. wish I could meet you all!)

  3. So jealous. She met you, you met her. She’s delightful. And I’m sure you are too.

  4. You mean you met another imaginary computer person? 😉

    That’s what my husband says, my imaginary friends in the computer. Glad you had fun though.

  5. Hooray! I think this must be the year for coming out of our shells – maybe there’s something in the air? Because I’ve been making a conscious effort to get out of the house more often. (And since my natural state is silk-wrapped hibernation, that’s sayin’ something! Ha!)

  6. It strikes me as great that the blogging universe is being used for good, like meeting people, rather than eeee-viil, like ranting and incoherent blathering.

  7. Call me if you ever get a wild idea to drive to Phoenix, with or without kids. 🙂

    Sounds like you had a lovely time with her.

  8. This is so interesting, because one of my blog friends who lives rather close just invited me and one other friend of ours to get together this summer.

    At first, it freaked me out, but then I thought about it. These are two people I talk with almost every day on-line. They support me unconditionally, and one of them I’ve talked to on the phone several times, so why would this freak me out so?

    It freaked my husband out, but I said yes, and I’m looking forward to it. Glad to know I’m not the only one venturing out, and I’m glad you guys had a good time 😉

  9. I am quite jealous 🙂

  10. I’ve loved meeting a few bloggers. The one thing you know for sure – you’ll have plenty to talk about! This sounds like you had a lot of fun and made a connection that will last.

  11. it really was so good to see you. and yes, the stain..totally gone.

    xo