Made off with it

            Judaism does not sponsor a version of Hell.  There is no promise of fire, brimstone, and three-headed dogs for the sinners among us.  As far as I can tell, we are supposed to behave well in order to honor God and people, rather than to avoid getting sent to the ultimate Naughty Chair.

            Perhaps it is this lack of cosmic punishment that allowed Bernie Madoff to behave as he did.  Maybe he figured that, if our religion gets it right, he isn’t going to Hell because there is none, and if our religion is wrong, he’s going to Hell on account of being Jewish.  He seems to have forgotten the part about honoring God and people, however.

            Let’s set aside for the moment what he has done to make Jewish people look bad, because we all know how well a greedy, conniving Jew is playing in the media.  Honestly, that fallout is going to happen every single time a Jewish person behaves badly around money, simply because it plays right into anti-Semitic hands.  Let’s also set aside the fact that the last thing the economy needed right now was yet another economic scandal. 

            No, what I’d like to think about for a moment is the way this dude has affected non-profits.  This was not some twisted Robin Hood scenario.  He wasn’t just taking from the rich and making himself richer.  He was taking from the synagogues, the charities, and the human rights organizations.  Yes, thanks to this dickwad (and you know how frequently I use terms like that), Physicians for Human Rights is now short almost 30% of its budget.  (If you have some spare change in your pocket, feel free to click on this link and help them with the shortfall.)

            No matter what sanctions Bernie Madoff faces here on earth, when he goes to his maker he is going to have to answer for stealing money from organizations who do things like work to eradicate landmines and fight epidemics.  It’s enough to make me start believing in Hell, just so there is an appropriate place to send him.

14 responses to “Made off with it

  1. I was wondering when I’d see the play on his name. Good call. I think he’s a dirtwad, too. I love how Zsa Zsa Gabor’s husband put it: let me in a room with him for five minutes with a baseball bat. Then I’ll feel better.
    Maybe that can be the Jewish Hell. A closed room with a baseball bat and an angry prince.
    Interesting post from you. Not what I would have thought.
    Cheers!

  2. Just to show how ignorant I am, I didn’t know he was Jewish. It’s hard for me to think of him as Jewish.. or anything else. He simply has no soul and no soul to consider.

    I believe there is a special place in hell for someone like him.. and it’s called “karma”.

    ~*

  3. Well I’m Catholic and I believe in Hell and I see him wallowing in the lowest circle of it.

    And you’re right, in a case like his it only seems just that such a place exists.

    The Jewish angle I hadn’t thought of, but it is very unfortunate.

  4. To me it doesnt matter what faith, race, sex or sexual-orientation a person is…….. a poor excuse for a human being is just that. His being Jewish in no way, shape or form reflects on the Jewish community, it reflects only on the content of his character (or in this case LACK of character).

    I know how badly I felt as a Catholic woman when I found out about abusive priests (that was far worse, because higher “officials” in the church participated in cover-ups and that is inexcusable)…at any rate, I felt like my faith was under seige, and rightly so in some ways, but I can only imagine the pain it caused the priests who were innocent (sorry for the tangent).

  5. Wait wait! Don’t you guys have sheol? Dark, scary pit, similar to the darker corners of Hell?

  6. Well, then, that resolves it. THAT’S where we’ll send him.

  7. “A shandeh for the goyim” is how people used to put it (a shame in front of the gentiles). I don’t think that hell is a deterrant. Think of the priests mentioned above! However, just think of what it’s like, when you meet the light, the pure source of love and life, and you know all that you’ve done. No distractions. No rationalizations. That’s why you’re supposed to do Tshuvah every year before Yom Kippur. Now Tshuvah is pretty specific. It means saying you’re sorry. It means making amends. It means, given the same circumstances, doing things differently. It’s often translated as repentance, but it actually means turning.

  8. I am STILL in shock by this WHOLE damn thing. no one knew??? NO ONE KNEW???

    please………..

  9. I don’t think people who do very bad things think about the afterlife’s consequences. (Maybe because I never think about the afterlife, either, since I don’t think there is one). I think they just get very narrow-minded about their current goals, and can make their needs/wants more important, bigger, than anything else.

  10. Hey, at least the guy believes in equal rights – treating everyone equally bad. You forgot to mention destroying whole countries with a single action. That’s like the superhero version of hell.

  11. Wow, I didn’t realize he was Jewish either. I guess with so many people misbehaving someone’s bound to be. I also didn’t know about the ‘no Hell’ thing. How nice to have a religion without Hell. Where can I sign up?

  12. PS Thanks for the comment and if I was going to be in LA I’d totally look you up but alas, no hometown visit for me this trip.

  13. This meltdown goes well beyond any religious or ethnic divisions or whatever. Mr. Madoff may have been Jewish but I think that most of the perpetrators of the various scams are not.

    My WASP-turned-agnostic old-school banker dad is throwing lightning bolts and probably a few other things at all of the greedmongers, with my brother’s help, wherever they happen to be over there on the other side.

  14. That happened to us too. And as luck would have it, mini still obliges to offer her poop as a precious gift that is saved for when mommy is around.

    Still, IMO you’re better off with the vaccine. Having gone through rotavirus twice, and seeing many kids including mini hospitalized for it, it’s a NASTY bug. We’d jump at the chance to vaccinate if it weren’t too late.