“only one in any number of generations can write what is written”

            The good news is that I think I have found a writing project I want to pursue.  While I did a chunk of the research in my past life as a doctoral graduate student, there is still a great deal of reading and thinking to be done before I begin to write.  Which brings us to the bad news.

            I’m going to back off from blogging for awhile.  I’ll post from time to time – maybe once a week – so do check in here.  But, I am like tofu: my writing takes on the flavor of what I am reading.  So, I need to stop reading blogs for the most part and concentrate on books.  I’ll be back, but if you don’t see me around your blogs, you know where I’ll be: neck high in Gertrude Stein.

            Yes, really.  I’m dumping you for Gertrude Stein.  Only, don’t think of it as dumping.  Think of it as “being on a break.”  Really, I’m just cheating on you with Gertrude Stein.

            I’m excited about this.  Lately, my writing has been about as dried and shriveled as my grandmother’s breasts.  Often, when I finish a long project, I flounder and wonder if I’ll ever find something else I want to write about.  I have come to realize that the subjects always present themselves. 

            Now, if you’ll excuse me, there is an egotistical lesbian expat genius awaiting my attention.  I just hope Alice Toklas doesn’t get too jealous.

27 responses to ““only one in any number of generations can write what is written”

  1. Gertrude Stein? GERTRUDE STEIN???? I was hoping perhaps Angelina, or someone HOT.

  2. you need to get out more.

  3. If I had any sense, I would write the same thing on my blog (substituting “my novel” for Gertrude Stein).

    I’ll miss you around here, but this is good news and you inspire me (again).

  4. That’s great! Good luck with the writing.

    I’m amused that your definition of “backing off blogging” is posting once a week.

  5. Good for you! It’s such a wonderful feeling to find that first rush of excitement again for a project. Hope you enjoy it.

  6. Good luck with your new project!

  7. I’ll miss you, Emily, but I do understand. Good luck. Also that one in every generation thing sounds kind of like Buffy.

  8. Good luck!

    (And I had the same thought as Honeypiehorse re: the Buffy bit! ;D)

  9. Have fun with Gertie!

  10. I’m new to your blog over the past few months, but really enjoy reading it. I love your writing style and am often myself inspired by your words and elegant phrases. Best of luck to you as you pursue your writing project.

    p.s. and please do share tips on how you are able to find time to write with three little ones under foot!!! 🙂

  11. Wishing you lots of luck & productive writing days.

  12. Good luck. I wonder now if blog reading – dispersing our attention across so many different writers rather than staying with one through the duration of a book – is going to become to intellectual pursuits what free love was to romance: a temporary interlude of the unsustainable division of attention.

  13. I disagree about your writing even remotely resembling your G’ma’s breasts. But still, I support you in this new endeavor! I’ll keep you on my reader and happily read whatever you write whenever you have time to write it.

  14. The very best of luck with the project! I’m sure you’ll do Gertrude proud.

  15. Alice B. Toklas is NOT going to be happy.

  16. You’re – you’re cheating on me with Gertrude Stein?

    *sobs*

    Fine. Okay, fine then. Just leave the good towels when you go.

    Kidding, of course. You can take the towels. ;)Well, now that my silly melodrama has been expressed, enjoy yourself and your break.

  17. Bye, Emily. Don’t forget to write! (Either about Gertrude Stein, or the family zoo, or both…writing keeps brain engaged, don’t it?)

    I’ll miss you. But, you WILL be back.

  18. What fun, a new project! Bring us nuggets as you can. Because then it won’t be like cheating.

  19. I’m on a blogging break myself, but I’m still enjoying reading the blogs. Have a great time writing (that’s a weird thing to write) and we’ll be here when you come back…

  20. “Pigeons on the grass alas”. Major character, her. What’s your project?

  21. Vodka Mom cracks me up!

    Happy writing!!

  22. I know you aren’t reading blogs but I really thought of you while I was writing this: http://honeypiehorse.blogspot.com/2009/03/rant-thats-been-long-time-coming.html
    No pressure, you don’t have to read it and you don’t have to comment. And it would probably contaminate your Gertie vibes. I’m just saying.
    BTW I totally agree with Vodka Mom about Angelina. I think I speak for all of us when I say we’d rather be cheated on with her. 😉

  23. I’m happy for you (as a doctoral student in need of writing inspiration) — but sad, too!!!

    Send some of that inspiration this way.

    Maybe in the form of some posts.

    Just to cover all the bases, you know? 🙂

  24. you DO know that I really do wish you luck. right?

    xoxoxo

  25. Hooray! I wish you lots of luck!!

    I wanted to drop by to say thank you for your support in my Super Heavy Duty Post on Violence Unsilenced. I appreciate it greatly.

  26. “we were on a break!!!”

    happy writing.