Holding pattern

I feel like I owe you all an explanation.  You all have been so loyal and patient with me, and I am just off with no explanation.  Here’s the deal — there are a couple of big things afoot for our family right now that I cannot write about just yet.  These big things keep my mind very, very occupied, and naturally I want to write about what is on my mind.  But I can’t.  So I am not writing anything.  I promise that I will be back once a few personal things get resolved.

It does feel terribly self-involved that I am unable to post because my personal life is so all-encompassing, given the giant things afoot in the world.  I should be writing about racial profiling and Harvard professors, but I figure I have nothing new to add, there.  Or I could be writing about Cronkite, but, I have written about him and what he meant to me once already.  I think I will post on him soon, but I need a little time to think about his loss.  And I guess I could write about the health care reform that simply expands the existing coverage with little actual reform, but again, smarter people than I have already said all of this.

So, I will cocoon, plan birthday parties, deal with sick children, and ask your forbearance for my spotty (at best) blog reading and my weak excuses for posts.  Right now, even writing Facebook status reports feels like lying, because the big things we are waiting on must remain unspoken.

On another note, Benjamin has given up his dream of being a princess.  Now, he wants to be a ballerina.  A big, scary ballerina, to be sure, but a ballerina nonetheless.  Anyone know where I can find a tutu in size “husky”?

23 responses to “Holding pattern

  1. Things afoot. I get that. Birthday parties alone are enough to derail my good blog intentions.

    Hang in there. 🙂

  2. We’ll still be here when you get back :).

  3. I hope the big personal things are of the good and happy variety.

  4. Oh, I’ve been there. It’s so annoying when there’s big things going on that you just can’t write about. I shut down and just don’t write when that happens to me, too.

    I hope what is transpiring is good stuff.

  5. A husky ballerina? Oy vey.

    Blessings to your and yours. Hang in there.

  6. We will be here when you are ready to come back. I give you permission to focus on family and not feel like you have to blog right now. Hugs are coming your way from many of your fans including me.

  7. Wishing you smooth sailing, until you return.

  8. Any 4-year-old girl (such as my own) can tell you that ‘princess’ and ‘ballerina’ aren’t mutually exclusive. You can be a princess ballerina. Throw some fairy wings in there for good measure and you’re really set. We’re not about minimalism, AT ALL.

    And I will be here whenever. In the meantime I hope that good things are afoot in your world.

  9. Oooo — I so want to pressure you to spill!

    But I shall refrain. Just hoping all goes well and you are happy in the end. I’m not writing much lately either. Just doing photos as life is crazy. You are in my reader so … I’ll see you when I see you!

  10. Hope everything is okay, and hopefully it’ll be exciting news!

  11. I hope things resolve themselves soon for you guys.

    I’ll always be here, no matter how much or how little you write.

    Finally, ballerina is a fine career goal; I’m pretty sure you can find those husky tutus online somewhere. 🙂

  12. Take the time. Live the life. Write when you feel like writing.

  13. Hope your kids feel better soon and all is well.

  14. Good for the ballerina. I hope that the big chances come down in a way that is workable.

  15. I love the idea of a husky ballerina! (But isn’t there a name for a male ballet dancer? Balletomane or something like that? I want to see that husky as well.)

    Good luck.

  16. I could be a husky ballerina. Hmm….

    Hope you get the news you’re hoping for. 🙂

  17. It’s interesting to read this after what I just posted (minus an explanation, because if I went there I’d just feel too bad to post.).

    Thinking of you even if I’m not posting to your blog…

  18. HAng in there. You’ll figure things out. Until then my thoughts are with you.

  19. Write what you want, when you want. You’re under no obligation to anyone but yourself anyway. Yourself and all of us who love your writing and look forward to you wise and wonderful words. But don’t let that pressure you!

  20. Oh, honey, I’ve been absent from blogging just because I’m lazy and it’s summer. No need to worry. Everyone understands and will be here when you do write, because you’re so incredible.

    Hopefully, it’s all good big things afoot! If not, hang in there.

  21. Always subordinate the virtual to the real. We go through these stages. Oddly, though, I find my blog income stays constant whether I’m posting twice a day or twice a month. And my editor never calls either (patient person, whoever she / he is). One of the big perks to blogging gratis is that we can define our own hours. We can at least exploit that.

  22. Good luck with your life things.

    And, he could become a Trock: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1giFy6ktVYE