Please

As I wrote a couple of days ago, this week I had the pleasure of watching a puppet show.  It is an old-fashioned variety act, where one man banters with a variety of cheeky marionettes and puppets.  This is not a wealthy man, not a hustler or a marketer.  He is just an artist who loves his puppets and wants nothing but to continue using them to make children laugh, as he has been doing for thirteen years.

And on Sunday, unless a miracle happens, he’s going to have to close his puppet center.  He’ll have to sell or give away the amazing mechanized puppet display from the early 20th century.  He’ll have to put into storage his many puppet friends.  And who knows the fate of the giant marionette who hides behind the black curtain in the corner.

I wrote about this, I posted it on Facebook, and I asked people to repost.  And most ignored my request.

I’ve never asked my readers to donate to me.  I’ve never put up ads or made any money off of this blog.  And I’m not asking you to donate now, although you certainly can through Puppetolio’s website, and that is what will ultimately save this show.  What I am asking is that you post this on Facebook.  Tweet it with the hash #Puppetolio. Repost to your blogs.  Please don’t think, “Well, I don’t live in L.A.”  If you know anyone who lives in L.A., anyone in the media, anyone who loves puppets, anyone who reads blogs, anyone who cares about the arts, then you know someone who will find this of interest and might be able to help.

I’m not asking, I’m begging.  I’ve been there, I’ve seen the show, and this guy is the real thing, folks.  If you won’t do it for me or for the puppets or the history, do it for the kids who will never get to see this show.

On Monday morning, there is going to be a little less children’s laughter in the world.  And that’s one thing we really cannot afford to let go.

9 responses to “Please

  1. I tweeted this for you a few minutes ago.

  2. I am so for this type of entertainment. Sadly I am absolutely useless in this instance — I don’t tweet, don’t live anywhere near L.A. and only three people generally read my blog. Plus I don’t generally pray any more. I will send fervent good thoughts of the karmic variety in your (and his) general direction, though.

  3. I’ve tweeted and facebooked it– glad that you and the boys got a chance to see the show. It sounds neat. Very sad.

  4. Pingback: LA Confidential « She Started It

  5. She Started It

    I blogged, and my blog posts to my FB page. Hope it helps.

  6. I sent this to a friend of mine who works for KTLA. hope it helps

  7. Pingback: pulling some strings « collecting tokens

  8. Okay, Emily. For you. And for the puppets, of course.

  9. I know the feeling of “hoping they don’t notice.” And I think it’s not looking good because they notice everything, including what’s on the periphery.