Mama’s little girl

Last week, when I mentioned reading Ms. Magazine at the Y, there were a few commenters dutifully impressed that I read something so heavy while working out.  It is true that I never read fluff on the elliptical.  I have been known to work out with Henry James.  However, this is not because I am some intellectual powerhouse. It is because I despise working out on machines.  I really only like running or swimming, but those aren’t always an option.  Trust me when I tell you that the only reason I do my heaviest reading while exercising is because if I have to really think about what I am reading, I don’t spend a half an hour watching seconds elapse until I can get off the Godforsaken machine.

I actually read a fairly wide range of periodicals.  I’m sort of a magazine junkie.  I have a long history with The New Yorker, although we are taking a break from one another.  I like The Economist as well as The New York Times.  I live for Brain, Child, love Hip Mama, and used to adore Cookie, before it went the way of all good things.  And, though it may shock you, I really dig Glamour.

“Why would anyone want to read this?” my husband asked, although I think he wonders that about everything that isn’t Kitchen and Bath Magazine or somesuch.

“It actually has some great essays.”

“Where?”  He flipped through.  “It looks like all ads.”

“No, there are always interesting essays in the back.  Plus, they are trying to use different sized models.”

Of course, what I didn’t tell him is that, even though I don’t wear makeup, I kind of like the sections that tell me which shade of eye shadow are in this season.  Even though the last time I bought a purse was 2006, I like to know just how out of date my accessories are.  And, hey, this month Glamour admitted it made a mistake about the jumpsuit, although I must say I think they were right the first time when they labeled it a big ol’ “don’t.”

I can’t put my finger on the appeal of this magazine, but I can tell you it is very, very appealing.  I know this because my seventeen-month-old daughter cannot get enough of it.

I’m not sure if it is Posh Spice or the puppy, but she could stare at this month’s cover for ten minutes, happily pointing at parts of the picture and babbling.  Then, she opens it up and points some more, clearly asking me all sorts of questions.  I’ve always made it a habit of reading her whatever she asks about, so now she knows just exactly what cute accessories are in for the spring and how to tone her abs.

Needless to say, I am a little worried about her interest in shopping.  Which is why it filled me with delight this weekend to walk into the dining room and find her intently examining another of my favorite periodicals.

Bitch Magazine.

13 responses to “Mama’s little girl

  1. OMG, that is FUNNY.

  2. Because she’s awesome.

  3. Hmm. I read February’s edition yesterday. Some of it was funny, and I did notice the “different” body type- on a feature towards the back of the magazine.

    I’m not a big cosmetic (or clothing) consumer myself, and that’s reinforced every time I look in one of these magazines. Any time I see a recommendation there, I always wonder how much the company paid for the placement. I now wonder the same thing when I read an interview or feature story. From what I’ve heard, it’s really bad, and not just in the mainstream.

    I know what you mean though about the appeal- my daughter has loved the movie Clueless since she was 15 months old, and so have I. Bright, colorful, fun- what’s not to love?

  4. Well, Deb, rest assured that Bitch paid me nothing for this endorsement 🙂

  5. Yeah, but did they pay Lilah? 🙂 Might want to see how heavy her piggy bank is these days.

  6. I’m sure they didn’t- but I’m positive they are taking money for some of their editorial content. Which is the way things go at this point. As long as Lilah isn’t reading too much into it, no harm done.

  7. (Sorry, I can’t reply to specific posts via my bberry.) They don’t have to be big. I would have thought the same thing about, for example, VegNews last year. Then I saw them pimping (that feels like the right word) a restaurant in my city that hadn’t even opened yet. I mean, I’m pretty sure construction wasn’t even completed by the time the piece had been written. Which wouldn’t have bothered if someone had sussed out this cool, new, underground group opening a place, but it just so happened that the proprietor was the head of a local vegan organization that played slimeball/hardball with some starving restauranteurs I knew. I am just guessing that he also had some contacts in the larger vegan press. And yes, I understand how ridiculous those three words sound together.

    Another friend told me that, years ago, she had been approached to be featured in a story about women in business. She had balked- she’s shy- but then later found out that if she had agreed she would have paid for the coverage. This was a smaller, locally focused magazine, but it is also the case for even the bigger magazines. People are signing off on- and paying for- even unflattering stories as long as they’re getting the coverage.

    Sorry- not trying to take away from your larger point, and I think I even agree with it. What’s put out there is fun, but none of it should be taken any more seriously.

  8. I feel better about taking my trollope to the treadmill now;)

    There’s nothing like a little Jude the Obscure for the step machine. Pain for pain.

  9. RIP Cookie. They would never have approved of the jumpsuit or at least could have recommended a mother-child matching set. (Man, I loved that magazine.)

  10. My dream job would be to write for Bitch…..

  11. My girl is always really interested in the cover of The Week. I keep explaining “satire” to her but I don’t think it is sinking in.

  12. HOORAY! One of my friends is an editor at Bitch and I love hearing about folks reading it. It has also inspired interesting conversation with Will, who at age 6, can now read the title and wants to understand the significance of this clearly important word.