Ban from Facebook the people trying to ban from Facebook the people praying for the death of Obama

There is a Facebook group called something like “Ban from Facebook the Group Praying for the Death of Barak Obama,” or something equally catchy.  Most of my friends have joined.  I have not.

I couldn’t even find a Facebook group dedicated to earnest prayer for the untimely demise of our President.  I found several groups with a couple of hundred members who were hoping Obama would die, but no one praying for it to happen.

This may seem to be splitting hairs, but it’s not.  Since I don’t believe in God, a bunch of loons sitting around praying for the President to die seems to me a gigantic waste of time, but certainly not worth getting hot and bothered over.

Even if I did believe in God, I still wouldn’t get ants in my pants over this one.  Because, hey, if there is a God, I am sure as shootin’ hoping Hesheit is not in the business of knocking off Presidents just because someone started a Facebook group.  That would fly in the face of that whole Benevolence thing.

Free speech is free speech, and freedom of religion is freedom of religion.  We don’t get to pick and choose.  If these people want to spend all their spare time praying for the President to die, that’s their business.

At least it keeps them from actually doing anything dangerous.

11 responses to “Ban from Facebook the people trying to ban from Facebook the people praying for the death of Obama

  1. Yeah. I jumped on the bandwagon, and one friend responded to me: “I support the folks praying for Obama’s death the same way I support Trey Parker and Matt Stone’s right to show Muhammed on South Park.” I thought Hey- he’s right. I can’t have it both ways….

  2. You know, I disagree. The way I see it, asking FB to ban a hate group (because I really do believe it’s a hate group thinly veiled as a joke) is exercising my free speech. I don’t actually really give a shit whether FB actually bans the group, I just think that people should object to speech they find objectionable. That’s what the group is doing. Consider it a “I find a page that prays for the death of the president distasteful” group. I’m not generally a group-joining, t-shirt wearing, bumper sticker sticking kind of activist, but I am moving in that direction in response to the very vocal members of society who so freely vent their hate-filled venom. For one thing, the “praying for death” page has well over a million fans. I find this disturbing, and actually not harmless. With those sorts of numbers, the hardcore anti-Obama fringe who actually do pray his death may feel like they are a majority.

    For that matter, I don’t even see this as primarily a free speech issue. This is not asking the government to crack down on people making jokes or take down a website. This is asking a private site to investigate a possible violation of terms of use. If people want a venue to spew their hatred, there are plenty of other ones available.

  3. I am Canadian, so I’m not sure I can have a credible opinion one way or the other. However, I do have to say that I find it horrifying that Facebook would remove breastfeeding photos, but not blink at groups hoping for Barak Obama’s death.

  4. Amber has a good point on the breastfeeding thing. I think the group is awful and stupid and shows – as you point out – complete lack of basic understanding of God. I’ve not heard of it, being somewhat FB averse, but I hope it’s just a crude way of speaking out against him and not a real hate group.

  5. I reported the group as hate speech, but purposely did not join the group asking for their removal. I posted something about it in my status, about it being “not only extremely hateful, but in extraordinarily bad taste.” Here’s the thing about freedom… we should use our freedom for GOOD. Freedom of speech is important, and I will defend it. And yes, those people have a right to speak their mind (although death threats to the president are exempt from that freedom, and although this is not a threat, it walks a very thin line, I think). But what i wanted to do was call out my “friends” who are joining the group that is praying for the death of our democratically elected leader. I reported it as hate speech because it IS hate speech. It’s ugly, ugly, ugly. But hate speech isn’t illegal. So I’m torn. I wish there was no such group on FB. Legally, perhaps, they have a right to be there. But FB also has the right to remove them. By reporting it to FB, I was asking FB to look into it and decide if it goes against their guidelines. Just like I reported Fred Phelp’s church, which was using a “God Hates Fags” banner as its profile picture.

    Just because we are free to say something, does not mean that we SHOULD. And I want my “friends” to consider that.

  6. I can’t find any group praying for his death, let alone with over a million fans. Am I searching wrong?

  7. Okay I found a group that was entitled “Dear Lord…..” and it sort of made a “joke” – if you can call it that – saying that this is the year God took my favorite actor/singer (insert names of famous artists who died this year)….”And I’m just letting you know that Barack Obama is my favorite President. Amen,” which I find both stupid & offensive as a liberal and Christian (two great things that go great together!!!), but I agree, we can’t ban them.
    Its adolescent, ridiculous and it doesn’t work – just ask people who pray for their sports team to win.
    I think there was T-shirt sold on cafepress for a while that referenced a Psalm. It was just the verse and then the phrase “Pray for Obama.” The verse basically said “May his children be orphans, may his days be cut off.” Charming to be sure – I honestly don’t know how people look at themselves in the mirror, but that is for them to deal with, not me.
    In the meantime, we have a real racism problem in our country, a real economic collapse of the middle class and bigger, bigger fish to fry – even than one million people on Facebook who may or may not be praying for our President’s death. In truth, I doubt many actually are. If a person does believe in God – actual God, not just my own religion – its a fricking ballsy thing to do. I just don’t see it happening that much. I know you don’t believe – that’s totally cool – but I’m trying to communicate my disbelief as a believer that anyone who has a belief in God outside their own timezone – like some sort of universal entity of goodwill, care, peace, etc…well that such a person could really pray for any agenda whatsoever seems a little ridiculous. Actual God concept makes prayer in front of football games look like hubris not humility.

  8. Link (hope it works): http://bit.ly/cAGrFJ

    I am an old fogey who only uses FB to keep up with family members and some childhood friends I didn’t think I’d ever be in contact with again. I have seen the name of this group float by a few times but it was so long I didn’t even bother to read it to the end.

    The postings and comments that I saw were pretty juvenile.

  9. First, thanks for being consistent, E.

    Secondly, I agree that it’s probably not anything to get one’s knickers in a twist about.

    Thirdly, I have to echo Amy that the (original) group evidences little knowledge of how God works. Those of us who do believe in God believe that He is fully sovereign, as well as fully good. We are also told that He puts leaders over us, regardless of what we may think of them. We are called to be obedient to them, though, of course, not to “like” them.

    Your point, though, is well taken. If that’s how they want to roll, let ’em.

  10. I agree – protest ’em, say out loud that they are being ignorant and hateful and pretty darn nasty BUT don’t ban them or censor them. It’s just how it has to be.

    In my opinion people who say things like this garner a bit of support from others who already agree with them and are therefore just as ridiculous, and far more ridicule and disdain from everyone else. I also feel it’s important to KNOW there are folks thinking and acting this way rather than suddenly realizing there’s a whole colony of skunks under the house and it’s a bit late to do anything about it.

  11. Writing as a person who believes in God, the whole thing seems so oxymoronic. How can anyone familiar with PRAYER itself pray for someone to die? Informing the one who is Holy and Love that someone he has created and loved as a father to child ought to be killed is at least an oxymoron. God is much more than an all powerful pollster.

    But I didn’t and wouldn’t join the group either. If for no other reason that acknowledging it by protesting it legitimizes it.