Resistance is futile

My children’s friends come over and the first thing they ask me is, “Can I have a muffin?”  I’m thrilled they like my muffins, because my damned kids won’t eat them.  Zachary will only deign to eat them on the day they are baked, which leads me to wonder if just possibly I have spoiled him

On Sunday night, I mixed all the dry ingredients and all the wet ingredients so that Monday morning I could quickly throw it all together and have fresh muffins for Zach’s lunchbox.

I just can’t figure out how the kids got so spoiled.

On the drive home, I asked him if he had eaten his lunch.  “No,” he snapped.

“Why not?”

“It’s the muffins.”

“Was there something wrong with the muffin?” I asked.

“I wish you weren’t a cook!” he burst out.  “I wish you didn’t know how to cook!  Then I could have machine-made food!”

I’d offer up sage philosophical commentary on this little tirade, except I need to go measure out the flour for tomorrow’s bread.

11 responses to “Resistance is futile

  1. We gave up supermarket bread for homemade this year. Every once in a while, she whines about it. But mostly not.

    On the other hand, she had dinner at a friend’s house tonight and announced that she’d eaten broccoli and carrots and lettuce and that it was good. I asked why she ate broccoli at other people’s houses and not ours. Turns out to have come out of a plastic bag from the freezer, complete with cheese sauce. Oy.

  2. perhaps you can find an organic automat nearby for your oldest…

  3. There is no pleasing kids, really.

  4. I’m pretty sure that if it was the other way around he’d be complaining too. Kids are fun that way. Or, at least, mine are.

  5. Ah! I had that same complaint when I was a kid. Now, I am happily inflicting the same fate on my own children. And thanking my mother for it.

  6. Oh my heart! Machine made food! Henry became passionate about Jamie Oliver’s food revolution show. We watched it together & he said all right things. “We want to put healthy stuff in our bodies, right mom? Jamie Oliver is teaching them to eat healthy, good stuff, just like I like to ear, right mom?” Etc, etc. But when Jamie took away the french fries in the highschool, Henry sobbed for a full 5 minutes over the loss.

  7. If it makes you feel any better we did the same thing to my mom when we were little. We grew out of it, but now I am already on the recieving end from my own little one.

  8. Ah yes, I remember eating my mother’s homemade whole-wheat bread (from wheat she ground herself mind you) with organic honey and natural peanutbutter and SWEARING that when I grew up I was going to stock my cupboards with CoolWhip and Rainbow bread.

    Of course it was also the cool factor – all the cool kids at my school had subsidized lunches and got to have plastic hot-dogs and tacos made with tuna fish. I used to seeth with envy.

  9. Laughing.

    My five year old asked me the other day if I could go take cooking lessons from grandma. When I said, it wouldn’t probably help much, I was given a huge sigh and an eye roll.

    You just can’t win with some kids.

  10. Kids are like that. My older d couldn’t wait to have a store bought birthday cake. I bet her friends can’t wait to have a homemade one.

  11. Cheeky Monkey

    Fresh baked muffins for lunch? That makes me want to go back to bed.

    🙂