Running

I ran a 10K two weeks ago, coming in 65th out of 115, which is 53 spots higher than I expected to finish.

I’m a runner at heart.  Swimming is fine because I like the feel of water running over my skin, and I appreciate that it strengthens my knees.  But most other kinds of exercise annoy the hell out of me.  Spinning, yoga, pilates, lifting, machines – I’ve tried it all when weather or my joints make running impractical.

I cannot figure out the people who actually prefer to run on the treadmill.  How is running in one place watching television even in the same category as being outside, with the smells and sounds and air?  I’d rather run in the rain than get on a treadmill.

I don’t get running with music, either.  I don’t want that kind of sensory input while I am clearing my head.

It goes without saying I don’t run with a jogging stroller.

I am a runner, despite what my knees have to say about the matter.  I am a runner and a hiker and a walker.  I am an inveterate pedestrian.  I am not the fastest or the strongest.  But I am a runner.

The 10K was partly through town and partly through the woods and around a lake.  Trail running, which – let’s be honest – is the best kind there is.  Especially in April, when the leaves are all coming out.  This town has so many mature trees, and until this spring, I had no idea that green came in so many shades.

I run through the woods a lot.  There is a huge park with a web of trails, although my favorite it around the lake at 6 in the morning, when it’s just me and a couple of geese.

All this is to say that we’ve found a house.  It is old and creaky, and we had to pony up every spare cent to get it, so the crappy old windows will remain crappy old windows for at least another year.  But it is a home, with beautiful wood and rambling rooms and an office space for me.

That overlooks the park.

Because the house backs onto the park.

We’re through inspections and under contract.  Lord willing and the creek don’t rise, we’ll move in sometime near the end of the summer.

This fall, I’ll be running out my backdoor, into the woods.

7 responses to “Running

  1. Congratulations!

  2. Sounds perfect. And I’m jealous you can finish a 10K and actually enjoy it.

  3. Inthefastlane

    The will be so exciting to have a place that is yours. And the perks of nature out your back door sounds awesome. Trail running is my favorite and I hate treadmills. Although, since my running tends to be done at 4am and sometimes in the middle of an Indiana winter, I have been known to torture myself on the dreadmill.

  4. I love a good run. I love the endorphins more. Hate the jogging stroller, but I gotta have my music (see note above about endorphins).

    Congrats on the house! Sounds so very lovely … no treadmill needed in those “rambling rooms”!

  5. Congratulations on the house. Best of luck with the rest of the process, although you seem much of an expert with the moving thing.

    I don’t think of myself as a runner, but I do think of myself still as an athlete— an athlete who is not particularly athletic at the moment, who has put on far too much weight, and who has embraced far too little regular, formal exercise, who truly does need to get her a** in gear.

  6. Congratulations. May you run long and well.

  7. lifeineden

    yay on the house! (oh and the 10k — I’m not a runner so I forget to get excited!) Happy Mother’s day friend!