Mothers’ day

Happy mothers’ day to my friend T.  We are mothering as a team, my friend, and I love partnering with you on this as on everything else we have done over the past 18 years.

Happy mothers’ day to my husband’s grandmother, who turns 97 this month, and still plays bridge twice a week and drinks scotch every happy hour.  You are a lady and a pistol.

Happy mother’s day to my mother-in-law, the quintessential sandwich generation woman, who is a wonderful daughter to her elderly mother.  We all should care for our mothers as you care for yours.

Happy mothers’ day to the other mothers in town.  Together, we join in a fluid umbrella of care for one another’s children, casually taking one or sending one, watching out for all of them.

Happy mothers’ day to the friends – far and near – who are my balustrades or scaffolding or whatever you want to call it.  You know, the friends who hold me the fuck up on a daily basis.

Happy mothers’ day to all my mommy blogger friends.  I don’t know that I would have survived learning to be a mother without you.

Happy mothers’ day to my sister.  Maybe today you will be reading my blog and know that – even though I know we will never talk again – I am thinking of you.

Happy mothers’ day to the waitress at our local pancake place, because she has four kids and still manages a smile on her face while she works her tables.  And because she refuses to get my kids anything unless they say “please.”

Happy mothers’ day to my husband, because the dude is a wonderful co-parent.

Happy mothers’ day to my children.  I can say with no hyperbole that you make my life worth living.  You have made me twelve-gazillion cards and presents over the past week, but every kiss you give me is a gift.

Happy mothers’ day to my mother.  I wish you could have seen my children.  I wish you could have known me as a preschooler, a teenager, an adult.  I wish I knew what it felt like to have a mother.

Happy mothers’ day.

10 responses to “Mothers’ day

  1. Ok, I am *totally* crying right now, but in a very good way. Beautifully said, my friend.

    Happy Mother’s Day.

  2. Happy Mother’s Day

  3. That’s a bloody mess you made, ripping my heart out like that. Good thing I’m a mother who’s used to cleaning up messes that would make lesser people quail.

  4. You have become the mother you wish you had. I think it’s so damn beautiful Em. All week I’ve been thinking of you with your kids – your efforts to understand them and guide them. The love and humor in your eyes. A gorgeous picture I assure you. Happy Mother’s Day.

  5. Happy, Happy Mother’s Day. A beautiful essay.

  6. Lovely, and thank you. Happy Mothers’ Day to you too.

  7. Happy Mother’s Day, Emily.

  8. You broke my heart in to tiny pieces with that last sentence. Happy Mother’s Day to you xx

  9. I love this and it made me cry, all at the same time.

    I love the one about the waitress. My cousin used to waitress at a small place in Tucson. She never gave a single kid a thing until they asked nicely and said please. Then she’d stand there until they said thank you. Always have loved that about her.

  10. I’m so far behind on reading that I just got to this. So, happy belated mother’s day to you. You’re doing a hell of a job. And damn you for making me cry right before I have to go to pre-school pick-up. Now I look like a stewed tomato.