Blog for Choice

I am not closing comments, but I know this is a volatile subject and I hope everyone will show one another the respect we prize so highly here at Wheels on the Bus.  If you do not feel like reading my post today, feel free to click away.  But, if you do, please click away to WhyMommy, who is getting a double mastectomy today and sure could use all the good vibes that we can muster.

——————– 

            We usually steer clear of the political here at Wheels on the Bus, mostly because I was taught that it is just not polite to discuss money or politics.  Consequently, I refrain from posting my tax returns and this is not a political blog.  It is, however, my blog, and I am pro-choice.

            I am pro-choice because I believe in the integrity of the human body.  I am pro-choice because I believe that men should not have the right to legislate about women’s bodies.  I am pro-choice because I believe that reproduction is profoundly personal.  I am pro-choice because I believe that to suggest women would ever undertake an abortion lightly is to show an astounding lack of faith in the human race.  I am pro-choice because I cannot imagine having to make the choice, so it is not for me to decide for others.  I am pro-choice because I am deeply offended that someone else’s religion should impede my right to make decisions about my body and my family.  I am pro-choice because I advocate a broad government that puts its resources into protecting our planet and educating our young, not a deep government that worms its way into my house, my bedroom, or my body.

            I am pro-choice because I believe every child should be a wanted child. 

            And so, today, I post this badge:

Blog for Choice Day

39 responses to “Blog for Choice

  1. Thank you.

    Thanks for posting the link yesterday, thanks for posting this today.

  2. With you as well.

  3. I’m with you on this as well.

  4. It’s the only thing that makes any sense to me.

  5. I’m always glad to learn how people feel about this issue, one way or the other. 🙂

  6. Yay Emily! Well-said.

  7. Yes! I agree with every word! Thank you for posting this.

  8. Yep. Count me on board. I think most of the population agrees on this one.

    I must admit I do have a problem with the third trimester abortions. The whole process of it is quite barbaric. (brain and needle) If the mom’s life is in danger yes I get it. But if it’s her mental health that’s in danger….then no, I don’t get it.

    Now no flames on myblog please. It’s just my opinion and though I may be smarter than the president I am not a policy maker. (yet)

  9. Agree – and to add, I’m pro-choice because I do not accept black-and-white when it comes to important issues, whatever they may be.

  10. Great post Emily. I love the construct of a broad government, not a deep one. I agree entirely.

  11. Yes, because of all these reasons. And what Megan said.

  12. Hey Emily,
    I just posted my spin on all this.

  13. thank you Emily!!

  14. Me, too, duder. Me too.

  15. I was once asked by a group of men (we were in a lit class and the women were vehement and loud on the subject) why I was pro-choice. There’s a simple answer…because I don’t know what’s going on in this other persons life. They might go home everyday and be beaten mercilessly. Why should I tell them to please bring a child into their own hell? It’s selfish to say anything other than “do what you need to do.”

  16. Well said, and I agree wholeheartedly. Kudos for having the nerve to say it all with clarity and strength.

  17. Thanks for the heads up on this. It’s such an important issue, and a polarizing one with an election coming up. We can’t let this right be lost.

  18. I happen to feel exactly as you do… but I am even MORE for free-speech. I’d like to think that someone could comment on here that doesn’t agree with you and still do it in a responsible, ADULT, tactful way.

    I like how you prefaced your entry today. It gave people a choice to read or not… 🙂

    Hallie

  19. Pingback: Choice, For Better Or For Worse « Mommyhood and Life According to Coco

  20. This isn’t an ideological comment, just a observation about semantics.

    But, from where I sit, the term “choice” when applied to reproduction sounds like a cruel and unfunny joke.

  21. United we stand on this issue.

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

  22. I second, third, fourth and fifth everything that has been said so far… thank-you for saying it so well in your post.

  23. To quote something, I think you once commented to me . . . .”You go girl!!!!”

  24. I was gonna say “you go girl” too but rambling housewife beat me to it. 🙂

  25. Agreed. Thanks for being brave enough to blog for choice.

  26. Great post– thanks for blogging on this important issue. Well said.

  27. Interesting post. You listed all your points very well indeed. I tend to agree with you but let someone else come up with pretty strong arguments against this, and I’ll probably agree as well. Aarrgghh, the indecisive me, as usual!!

  28. I agree 100% with every single reason you posted why you are pro-choice.

    Every.single.reason.

    And I find it terribly sad that this is still a battle… it’s a decision that should be between no one but a woman, her doctor, and whomever else she freely CHOOSES to include in her decision.

  29. I’ve had in my heart and head a post about abortion that I don’t know will ever make it out on to the screen, but it has a lot to do with my post today on perspective. The thing about the whole “debate” that makes me the most sad is how people on both sides nearly all the time believe the people on the other side to be horrible and devoid of values – and in the meantime, there’s real problems here that we all agree on, Pro-Choice and Pro-Life. I wish we could work together more.

    Thanks for posting your values, as I always love to hear them. 🙂

  30. Catherine- I was going to say almost the same thing. I have a post in my head too, but I don’t know if it will ever make it on the screen.
    Emily- You are brave for posting on such a touchie subject. It is difficult to write about something that you know can be such a taboo subject.
    On this one we’ll just agree to disagree. 🙂

  31. Yes. Great post.

  32. Pingback: Overcome. « Toddler Planet

  33. Thank you for having the ovaries to post about this. This is about treating women as equals and with dignity. If I am raped, I should not be forced to carry the product to term. If the pregnancy risks my life, I should be able to terminate it. I have a husband and child that depend on me. If the pregnancy risks my health (I will risk a stroke, losing a kidney, worsening cancer,) I should have the right to terminate.

    Let each person decide according to their religion and their family and with consultation with their MD. This is about treating women with dignity and about freedom of religion.

    checkout Rcrc.org for different religious perspectives on the right to choose abortion

  34. excuse me? if you replaced the word ‘choice’ with ‘murder’ (which is the same thing) you would probably be prolife. you are stupid to believe women don’t take abortion lightly, and most don’t even have any health risks. you keep saying YOUR body, but you are carrying someone else’s body. if you don’t want gov’t to worm its way into your house, don’t let so many penises worm their way into you, and you just might not get pregnant. Just because stupid mothers don’t want their kids doesn’t mean other people in the world don’t want them either. The CHOICE is made before having sex. The CHOICE is made when you can give your child up for adoption.

  35. to be strong is to say no, not to life, but to sex. being strong means you can get through challenges in life, even if that means a child. to be smart is to think ahead, and think of what you are doing. to love means to care about not only the ones who are loved, but also the ones who are not loved. this is the anniversary of death, no one should be proud

  36. Pingback: Graco Heart to Heart Blog - Bloggers- A Community that Cares