Happy Alternative Mother’s Day

            Long before gravity took over our bodies, long before little people took over our time, and long before 5 AM became an early morning rather than a late night, we attended an academic institution that had a lovely tradition called Spring Break.  Some people went to Cancun, some people went home and had their laundry done, and I generally tried to get a jump start of term papers because I was a raving geek (as opposed to the embodiment of coolness that I am today).  The really good kids, however, did something called Alternative Spring Break, which involved building houses for people unable to afford them or somesuch altruism.  And, although I don’t regret missing out on Cancun and I certainly don’t miss the trips home, I do wish I had an opportunity to spend some time just doing for people to whom I am not related.

            Well, here’s our chance, and many of you have risen to the occasion.  Here are the responses I got to my call for Alternative Mother’s Day suggestions:

 

  • Becky, at Mommy Wants Vodka, is giving money to Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep.  Please visit her post about parents who have lost children and what people are doing to honor those children.
  •  Coco, at Mommyhood and Life, is donating to Heifer.org, so as to help those suffering from the food crisis.
  • The Mad Hatter suggests donating to The Stephen Lewis Foundation in honor of the grandmothers in Africa who are raising AIDS orphans.
  • The Other Bear donates for breast cancer research each year in honor of her mother’s friend.
  • I also encourage those who haven’t to visit Julie’s post on uninsured children and spend some time today learning about this important issue.
  • Please spend some time reading the series over at MOMocrats.

If I have missed anyone, please send me an email or leave a comment and I will add your ideas.  Today is about motherhood, and motherhood is about children.  That’s all I have to say about that.

 

7 responses to “Happy Alternative Mother’s Day

  1. This is wonderful. Thanks for all these great ideas.

  2. Happy Mother’s Day Emily!

  3. I read your post yesterday and thought it was awesome. I just donated some money to the Children’s Miracle Network. Mostly because I was thinking of how lucky I am that my kids are healthy and not sick. I did not do this because of your post, but now I kinda wish I had done it in honor of Mother’s day for all those mom’s worrying about their kids. Either way, my $ will go to good use. But your post really touched me. You are a wonderful person.

  4. Excellent ideas, from you and all the others.

    I hope you were able to put your feet up today and relax a bit.

    Happy Mother’s Day! (both regular and alternative)

  5. i am just now reading your alternative mother’s day post, but i did it anyways. Both of our mothers got a beehive. Well, THEY didn’t get a beehive. Someone else did. Through Heifer International. So that some other mother could have some extra income to help raise her family.

    I imagine Mother’s Day is a mixed bag for you, emotinally. Hugs.

  6. Pingback: Mommy Wants Vodka » Blog Archive » A Time To Remember

  7. Thank you for pointing this out, love. And have a Happy Belated Mother’s Day.